World Diabetes Day

world_diabetes_dayFriday, November 14 is World Diabetes Day.  Join the circle!

Many of you know that my grandson, Nolan, has juvenile diabetes and was diagnosed almost one year ago at the tender age of 16 months.  So this cause is near and dear to my heart.  No child should have to endure the daily injections, finger and toe pricks, dietary restrictions, etc. that diabetes control demands, not to mention the possible health complications that can accompany it, but Nolan takes it all in stride.  He is, without question, my hero.

Show your support on November 14 — join the circle.  World Diabetes Day is represented by a blue circle logo. The blue circle, noted for its symbolism of positivity, life and health, is the global symbol of diabetes and signifies the unity of the global diabetes community in response to the diabetes pandemic.

And in a practical vein, consider purchasing JDRF cards this holiday season; make a donation; educate yourself about juvenile diabetes.  Or simply wear blue to show your support next Friday, November 14.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

23 thoughts on “World Diabetes Day”

  1. Thank you for the information you’ve provided. Please consider this inadequate note a supportive hug. It is very difficult to have someone you love dealing with something over which you, yourself, have very little control. May there be huge blessings as a result of the prayer you all (and the Diabetes Foundation) undoubtedly will be receiving because of this post.

  2. This is fantastic, i had no idea. My great grandmother who was so very close to me died from diabetes. She lived a long fulfilling life but living with diabetes is a daily chore, I know. My prayers are with your beautiful grandson and thanks again for the info.

  3. Thanks for the nudge, Nancy. My husband has juvenile diabetes and just went on the insulin pump this year. It has made an incredible difference in his life but I remember well the days of scary insulin reactions. I plan our meals carefully as always, and the pump has made his body more “normal” than it has ever been. I pray that a better solution is found soon for Nolan and his family. I’ll be wearing my blue, ordering my cards and joining the circle.

  4. Hey Nancy, He is hero material! These little guys are troopers.
    Thank you for the information…my grandmother was a diabetic and several cousins….but I wasn’t aware of World Diabetes Day.

    Gail

  5. Dear Nancy,
    I am wearing the blue next Friday and I will send this out to all that I work with and my friends!
    :)
    I will also make donations…Now that is the perfect gift to give this holiday season…to give to this cause in the recipients name.
    And for this hero! I am right there. I had a friend who I knew when I was young( in elementary school 35 years ago) who had this. She used to have to go to the office for her injections. She was brave on the outside, but she did cry when we were alone. I used to try to take her mind out of it, but back then it was pretty awful, and sometimes it was more than she could take.
    Gosh, Nancy, I forgot this, but this post really brings it all back. Makes me rather emotional to remember it all. It makes me strong and committed,too to do what I can so that this does not happen today to our little heros!
    Sincerely,
    Philip

  6. I didn’t know there was a World Diabetes Day either but I’m glad since it’s on such an exponential rise. Your grandson is definitely a hero and so are his parents who help him manage his disease every day.

    Oh yes, they are, Kathleen. His Mom (my daughter, Erin) and his Dad have been champions through the entire — sometimes terrifying — process and it’s only because of that that Nolan is doing so well. I’m incredibly proud of them both.

  7. Dearest Nancy … Nolan has my heart! As you might know since our blogging friendship about my sister, Nancy, who lived with me for the past year and half (though now hopefully on her own), surviving horrific illness (meningitis and 2 bouts of endocarditis and now legally blind because of diabetis). I simply blog to find self since my life rides each precious day beside my sister. Perhaps this is the most touching post between us … my soul is intertwined with yours and those of us who live each day with those we love. This has been a huge mission of mine also since loosing my diabetic brother, way too young. I wrap my arms around you. Nolan will be a survivor!

  8. A worthy cause, Nancy; thanks for bringing this to our attention. Diabetes runs in my husband’s family, and I know the complications it can cause. Nolan is a very brave little boy!

  9. Thank you, everyone, for your amazing understanding and support. It means a great deal to me, as I’m sure it does to anyone who has been touched in any way by this insidious condition.

  10. You’ve got a brave grandson, and I can imagine it must be very hard not to be able to make it better for him. Other commenters have shown how big this disease is getting to be. If anyone’s interested, there is a lot of fairly new research on natural ways to avoid blood sugar problems. I’m not advocating dropping the insulin, but by working with their doctors some people have managed to lower their dosage and occasionally even go off it altogether. Don’t know if this works for juvenile diabetes.

    Pomona, thank you for your thoughtful comments — unfortunately, Type 1 diabetes cannot be controlled by diet alone, although diet certainly plays a large role. Type 2 (adult onset) can most definitely be aided, or even avoided, by maintaining a healthy weight and diet, getting regular exercise, and carefully monitoring blood glucose levels. And yes, there is much new research in that area, thank goodness. When Nolan was first diagnosed, his medical team figured that before he’s out of school, they will have found a way to “reinstate” the islet or beta cells in the pancreas. Good news, indeed. It’s somewhat comforting to think that Nolan may live most of his adult life without the disease.

    Anyway, cheers to Nolan! Here’s hoping there’s a better way to deal with diabetes before he gets much older.

  11. Hi, Nancy, this must be a very difficult situation for your heart, to witness a child you love so much dealing with this darn disease. My prayer is that stem cell research will find a cure, sooner, rather than later, and that Nolan is the beneficiary of that research in his young life. Big hug. Kathryn xox

  12. Hi Nancy,

    My daughter was diagnosed about 18 months ago, with Type 1 diabetes. Last year, I took her to NYC to see the launch of World Diabetes Day, at the UN, with the city dressed up in blue to signal the occasion.

    Though its a tough one, as a parent, I can say there is light at the end of tunnel…my daughter is doing really, well, and we are in fact making a documentary film (www.sweet-16.tv) about the world pandemic of juvenile type 1 diabetes.

    As difficult as it is to accept, this disease will not stop your grand child from living a happy and fulfilled life. What we need to do is make sure the ‘have not’ countries may be brought into such equivalent possibilities in the next generation, due to costs associated with proper medical attention required for a healthy type 1 diabetes followup.

    Blessings.

    Dan

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

