What Bugs Me!

This disgusting lovely creature was trapped between the glass and the screen of my bedroom window earlier this afternoon.  I don’t see it now, which gives me reason to hope he scrambled out through a drain hole.  Can anyone identify it?  At first I thought it was a butt-ugly spider, but it only has six legs and it appears more like a small cricket or other jumpy thing.  It was probably an inch long from head to rear.  I do appreciate how beneficial bugs are in the garden, but in my bedroom?  Well, they’re fair game! ;)

Post Script — Mr. Ugly met his maker this morning.  We settled in for the night after carefully checking every crevice we could find, with flashlight and all.  Satisfied that he’d moved on, we slept.  This morning, I look over at the window after hearing what sounded like buzzing wings, and there’s Mr. Ugly on the screen again, possibly coaxed out of his hiding place by the morning sun.  I’ll spare you the rest of the story, and let’s just say I hope he doesn’t have any wayward friends or kin!

30 thoughts on “What Bugs Me!

  1. A bug is a bug is a bug to me. Unless of course it is a lady bug or a cockroach. Those I can identify.
    Brenda

  2. Uh oh! I was helping my friend with his new blog and logged in under his name, Construction 101, and forgot to log out! So that was actually me, Brenda, View From The Pines. Sorry!
    Brenda

  3. I was wondering where he’d got to, but it’s okay…I think he’s back now.

    We get lots of these though I’m not sure what they are. Fairly placid little bugs and definitely interesting for the kids to watch.

  4. Nancy, I love the name of your blog (very fitting.) I’m playing around with the soliloquy theme in the novel I’m writing now. I laughed over the disgusting vs. lovely bug conundrum. It’s always that fine line with insects. Your photo is still gorgeous. I’m sorry not to be able to ID it.

    I love your farm/foliage photos below. Your country looks a lot like Maine, but then again we are neighbors. Nice to meet!

  5. Was he trying to get in where it is warm? Every spring when I clean out my windows–I get a pretty good collection of those who didn’t make it.

  6. we have sooo many of those bugs here too, I’m kinda curious what they are called also?

    My biologist daughter may know — if I do find out, I’ll be sure to let you know. :)

  7. Thanks to everyone who has tried to help ID this homely critter. I’m not 100% sure what it is (except creepy!) but as long as it stays on that side of the glass, I’m okay. I’ll get hubby to slide the window open before bedtime, just to make sure. :) It’s possible he crawled out through a small drainage hole…I’m sure that’s how he got in. Ugh!

  8. One of these creatures landed on my mother the other day. There we were, blissfully sitting on the deck overlooking the lake with our glasses of wine and this huge interloper comes out of nowhere and lands on her right boob. Wine went a’flyin’ and the bug was swatted away amid screams and flailing arms and hands. Naturally, we had to have more wine after the attack. Icky things, whatever they are. We called him a Turbo Stink Bug, but I’m certain that’s not what it really is.

  9. Hi Nancy, we have those bugs all over in the garden right now. It is either the good guy (out of doors) assasin bug or the look alike bad guy (all indoor bugs) stink bug. May he rest in peace.

    Frances
    ps I have given a link to you in my awards page widget, thanks so much for the help once again!
    F

  10. I don’t know what he is, at first glance I thought box elder bug but then when I really looked, it’s not that. I think he would have met with the same fate at my house too. What I like outside, I don’t appreciate inside….

  11. I have always called that bug a stink bug, though it may not be the correct name. There is a very good reason it qualifies for that name – it stinks if you squish it!!!!

    There are similar shaped bugs, or more importantly, similar smelling bugs, that have a much shorter “shield”.

    They head indoors once the weather cools. I always wonder how they get in, but they do.

    So how to get rid of one if you don’t want to squish it?
    I grab an envelope, then very carefully I push/persuade the critter to move into the envelope. This is not easy. These guys are slow-moving unless you persuade it too much and it may take off (I can totally relate to Debi’s mom and the flying wine (what a waste of wine!)). So use a stick or another piece of paper and very gently nudge it. Keep the envelope very still because it will turn away if the envelope moves. If it turns away, put the envelope ahead a bit. I don’t think they have very good eye-sight (though in the case of Debi’s, it must have been a male and knew exactly where it was going). With patience you will have the beastie in the envelope and you can close the flap and either release it outdoors or throw the whole thing in the wood stove.

    My heart is beating faster just thinking about this…

    Hi Muriel — I appreciate your method, and I’m sure it has merit. But you’re far braver than I am! Mr. Ugly met with the spine of a book first, then was unceremoniously scooped up with a huge wad of toilet paper and flushed. :-) I didn’t notice any unpleasant odor, but then, he wasn’t around long either.

  12. Stink bug or assassin bug. Either way, they are not really beneficial at all. Both will suck out the juice from whatever plant they can get ahold of. When we see one during the summer, it is usually in the web of one of our resident GIANT female spiders. Right now, however, there are TONS of them on the berry vines in the alley. There they sit… right on the biggest, juiciest berries having a time of it. Gross little things… ick…

  13. Mr Ugly is really as you said…. not nice :)
    I also met something very unexpected lately – I will post it soon.
    Thank you for good wishes for Atomik :)
    Ewa

  14. I call this an assassin bug. I have brought them inside if I see one, and had no scale on my bay trees and fewer inside pests in general. I guess I think he is a lovely bug!

  15. Just want to say that if it is an assassin bug, they bite, and they fly. A few summers ago, my garden was infested with the assassin bugs called wheel bugs. I began going out in the morning and cutting them in half with clippers because they were quite aggressive with me.~~Dee

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

