Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day – October 2008

(Panicled Aster)

There Is Another Sky – Emily Dickinson

There is another sky,
Ever serene and fair,
And there is another sunshine,
Though it be darkness there;
Never mind faded forests, Austin,
Never mind silent fields –
Here is a little forest,
Whose leaf is ever green;
Here is a brighter garden,
Where not a frost has been;
In its unfading flowers
I hear the bright bee hum:
Prithee, my brother,
Into my garden come!

(Join Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day, hosted by Carolyn Gail!)

16 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day – October 2008

  1. Emily Dickinson is one of my favorites! Lovely poem, and the aster is beautiful. October signals the real beginning of fall to me.

    (For some reason, Blogger won’t let me change your url on my Blogroll–I’ll keep working on it!)

    It turned into a beautiful fall day here today but there is a distinct *feel* of autumn in the air.

  2. Nancy, Hi there! A beautiful poem for Muse Day, thank you. Wasn’t ED a master with words! Oh to be so gifted.

    The Panicled Aster is beautiful.

    Gail

    Hello Gail – yes, Emily is one of my favorites. :)

  3. This is a peaceful muse and I needed it after a few hard days of work. I’m ready to sit a bit and do nothing but blog. I’m not even going to pick up a broom. I love the ant in the your picture. Got the whole world to himself.

    I’m glad you noticed the ant, Anna! I hope you have a relaxing few days after all your hard work.

  4. Emily Dickinson is one of my favorite authors. What a lovely poem & the Asters are very pretty too.

    She wrote this poem to her brother, Austin. :)

  5. What a lovely poem and picture. I love asters!

    I love asters, too, for their late blooms and wonderful colors. This panicled aster is a native plant here in NS.

  6. I love Asters in all forms. These are particularly beautiful, dear. Emily Dickinson is the perfect poet for the blossoms, Nancy. Thank you for this little piece of heaven.

    Hi Debi — thanks for your kind words, as always. You can find a Dickinson poem that’s just about perfect for anything. :)

  7. Emily and Asters = Win, Nancy! What a nice mixture. And there are so many asters along the roadsides these days as well as in the gardens. Even though I’m being dragged kicking and screaming into autumn, days like today (once the sun came out) make me feel better about things. Thank you for highlighting the good of this season.

    Hey jodi — thanks so much for your visit and your kind words. YOU have some of the most beautiful asters I’ve seen in your garden this fall. Those colors are so striking! Good to SEE you again.

  8. Hi!
    You always take us to a place we hoped was there and we knew was there.
    You make it happen every day.
    You are just the best, Nancy.
    Warm regards,
    Philip

    Philip, I always look forward to your visits, and your typically generous remarks. I hope you’ll come often.

  9. Hi Nancy, tried to get your new blog URL on my blogroll but so far no luck. For some odd reason nothing appears when I try to add your URL. I checked it and I have the right URL. I’ve changed Frances’s URL too and that works fine. Have you heard from other bloggers having problems with adding your new URL to their blogroll?

    Hi Yolanda — yes, it seems to me that one other Blogger was having trouble changing the URL. It should let you change it to whatever you want, as long as you save the change. Another Blogger oddity, perhaps.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

