Autumn Palette

If you have forgotten water lilies floating
On a dark lake among the mountains in the afternoon shade,
If you have forgotten their wet, sleepy fragrance,
Then you can return and not be afraid.
But if you remember, then turn away forever
To the plains and the prairies where pools are far apart,
There you will not come at dusk on closing water lilies,
And the shadow of the mountains will not fall on your heart.

– Sara Teasdale

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “Autumn Palette”

  1. Ah, again the colors, the colors. Such a feast for the heart and the eye, Nancy. Both Monet and Ms. Teasdale would love your water lilies, as do I!

    Another shot taken at my 3 Mile Brook. :) I think it’s most beautiful there at dusk. As always, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. :)

  2. This is lovely – the photo and the quote together are so perfect. And serendipitous, too, as I was just getting a post ready with a photo of a water lily. Now I’m thinking maybe Sara Teasdale’s quote should dress up my photo, too. Very lovely indeed.

    I think it would be a fine thing to place Teasdale’s quote with as many illustrations as possible. I hope you do use it…I’d love to see them together. :)

  3. I am so lazy, I am still two stepping my way to your new blog! A lovely fall photo. What is the color like up there now?

    Hi Sandy – there’s a bit of color starting to show, but though we’ve had a few very light frosts, we haven’t had a hard frost yet, which is what the deciduous trees seems to need to shock them into their finest. It’s actually a bit early for any color at all –things should peak around the second week in October, though perhaps it will be earlier this year.

  4. Absolutely gorgeous Nancy.. makes me a bit homesick for Nova Scotia because there are so many beautiful places to enjoy the Fall colours. Not that Kingston doesn’t .. but there is something about the sea air … and you don’t even have to be right on the coast to feel its influence.

    You’re right about that…and you know how absolutely breathtaking Cape Breton is this time of year. I believe that in another life, I left part of my soul in The Highlands. :)

  5. How beautiful, Nancy! I adore waterlilies. I have some that bloom yellow. And next spring I hope to get another color. They are precious flowers that exude perfection.
    Brenda

    Hi Brenda. :) These lilies are white with a sunny yellow center. I had hoped to be able to get a better photo of some that were still in bloom, but by that time, the wind had come up and the water was quite choppy, so I passed on that idea.

  6. Nancy, I wish I had a fraction of your talent with a camera. Just lovely.

    That’s very kind, Deb. Sometimes, I think it’s just being in the right place at the right time. :)

  7. I think this is my favorite photo yet Nancy. What glorious colors are reflecting in that pond.

    The time of day has much to do with it, Racquel — dawn and dusk will give you the most saturated color. :) Thanks for the encouragement!

  8. Oh that water is such a dark blue. Dusk is a magical time anyplace, but your brook has become another world.

    “My” brook does hold an enchantment I haven’t seen in many other places. Perhaps it’s because it’s in such an out-of-the-way spot — not many people know about it. :)

  9. Oh Nancy, what gorgeous fall colors and beautiful verse!

    Sara Teasdale’s words are always beautiful. :) She’s one of those poets who can grab my heart and squeeze. This really is a beautiful spot this time of year.

  10. I was just thinking yesterday, that it feels like autumn is just around the corner. This pond photo says “autumn” to me. Gorgeous pic.

    Thanks so much, Silvia! I’m happy to have your visit!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

