A Pint of Perfect, Petite Peppers?

“There comes a time when it cannot be put off any longer.  The radio warns of a killing frost coming in the night, and you must say good-by to the garden.  You dread it, as you dread saying good-by to any good friend; but the garden waits with its last gifts, and you must go with a bushel basket or big buckets to receive them.” – Rachel Peden

Or small baskets. :)  Well, there are dozens of much smaller peppers left on the plants, but they’ll have to fend for themselves, I’m afraid.  With the threat of a “real” frost tonight, I picked the largest of the bunch, and they’re not SO large. We’ve had a week of below normal temperatures and little sun and they seemed to reach a certain point and just stop growing.  Now my question is: what to do with so many little peppers?  Ideas?  Suggestions?

As with most things in the garden, this has been a learning experience, of course.  Next year, plant earlier! :)

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

5 thoughts on “A Pint of Perfect, Petite Peppers?”

  1. Salsa.

    Huevos rancheros.

    Chile relleno. (Well, jalapeno relleno maybe. I’m not good at pepper identification. They’re a pain to make, but oh so delicious.)

    Or you could check this site (found when I couldn’t remember the name of chile rellenos, provided at last in person by a friendly librarian):http://www.jalapenocafe.com/recipes/eggs/eggs.html

    I like your new blog look, Nancy! And the peppers photo; I always learn from how you do photos.

    And I think you’re right to enjoy the harvest, even if it’s small. Appreciation is a good thing.

    Thanks for the suggestions, Pomona. :) I wasn’t sure if these were too small or not – they’re definitely large enough to chop for salsa, I think.

  2. Lovely little peppers Nancy. I’m fond of salsa myself & these would be perfect for that.

    Excellent, Racquel – I wish we lived close enough to share. :) My non-gardening hubby bought these plants on a whim…he loves hot peppers…but I must say I really enjoyed waiting for those first tentative blooms and then watching them form into peppers. I’m afraid the frost will get the remaining ones tonight, but if they’d all grown, I could have sent you a proverbial peck! :)

  3. I can’t believe you have frost warnings already. We had a beautiful, warm day in the Midwest today–I’m certainly not ready for cold weather yet! I’m no expert on peppers, but I have chopped up bell peppers and frozen them for use in dishes over the winter. Not as good as fresh, but it’s better than letting them go to waste.

    Loved the peaceful path on Sunday’s (Saturday’s) post.

    Thanks, Rose. :) What I don’t use up immediately, I will freeze. I’ve read that jalapenos freeze well.

  4. Since they’re hot, I’m with salsa, or I’d roast, peel, de-seed and freeze in small quantities, for spicing up winter soups, stews, and stir-fries.

    It looks like an excellent harvest to me!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

