At Day’s End

Night, the beloved. Night, when words fade and things come alive. When the destructive analysis of day is done, and all that is truly important becomes whole and sound again. When man reassembles his fragmentary self and grows with the calm of a tree.Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I took this photo on a drive home from my parents at dusk tonight.  This usually lazy, gurgling stream was very high, (due, we believe, to a beaver dam), and the night sounds of sleepy birds, playful crickets, and the slow trickle of water was hypnotising.  The day had been cloudy and humid, and as we passed my beloved Three Mile Brook, the sun peeked below the cloud cover and turned the brook to molten brass.  What a wonderful way to end the day.

I took more photos of some early fall color that I’ll share tomorrow. :)

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

14 thoughts on “At Day’s End”

  1. How tranquil and gorgeous! Do I sense a slight chill in the air?
    Shirley

    You can almost sense that autumn chill in the air, can’t you? Surprisingly, yesterday was quite warm and balmy, however, as the remnants of Ike pass through to our north. :)

  2. Ah, I can feel this in my bones, Nancy, your description was so clear. Don’t you just love those moments? It’s as though you’ve received a personal live greeting card from God or Spirit. Lovely sentiment and lovely photo. I look forward to your autumnal sharing.

    Those moments certainly are spiritual, Debi. :) I’ve always had an affinity for this place, since I was a kid, and it never fails to inspire. :)

  3. A lovely photo–this is indeed a great way to end the day!

    I’ve been having trouble getting your new URL changed on my blogroll, but I’ll keep working on it. Anyway, I’m finally catching up to some of your last few posts…I love your poems! Vivid imagery and heartfelt emotion–I hope you get that big garden you so deserve one of these days.

    I do hope you’re able to change the URL, Rose. I thank you both for your visit, and for your kind words about my poetry. I do enjoy it. And thanks for your good wishes about my garden, too – I’m sure something will come to pass eventually. :)

  4. Just my kind of place. That is a beautiful shot, Nancy.

    The wind from Ike started just before nine this morning. Lets see how long it takes to get to you.

    Hi Sandy – it’s quite windy here right now, and to the north of us, they received some rather severe thundershowers last night. But I think it is to pass quickly. :)

  5. Nancy, I am imagining the drive, with car window down, crickets singing and the full moon is just waiting to show itself. Wonderful photo and quote!
    Gail

    Thanks, Gail. :) It was a beautiful evening, indeed.

  6. A little glimpse of heaven. Beautiful shot Nancy, and your description makes it even more beautiful~we can only imagine what that molten brass was like up close.

    Thanks so much, Chey, and thanks for the visit!

  7. Hmm. If a man at night can reassemble his fragmentary self and grow with the calm of a tree, his wife must have cooked the dinner after working all day, done the dishes, bathed the kids, put them to bed for the umpteenth time….

    LOL! I love it! :)

  8. lovely thoughts as usual Nancy. So wonderful to see nature in your part of the world.

    Diane

    Thanks so much for your visit, Diane – I hope all is well in Alberta. :)

  9. it is a beautiful photo, and I also love the quote. I remember my grandfather telling me that in heaven, “there would be no night,” and me thinking, “Well, I LIKE night.” Nice to have you and St. Exupery on my side, even if one of you probably did have someone else do the chores…

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

