Pressed For Words

I took the plunge and moved my blog to WordPress, at least for the time being.  I don’t care for the templates as much, only because they aren’t as versatile as Blogger if you want to customize, but to me, what’s more important than that is that my posts reach you.  Now, here’s hoping Blotanical will pick it up!

I may not be able to get all awards and badges back in the sidebar, but again, for as much as I am grateful for them, it isn’t what the essence of Soliloquy is about.

So, here’s hoping I see you all in comments…and here’s hoping you see me!

Anyone who has Soliloquy in their blogroll should please change my blog address to:
https://nancybond.wordpress.com

I also just realized that my sidebar disappears when you open a single post; poor choice of template, perhaps.   I think there will be growing pains!  But, my posts (along with my complete Plot and Ping button) showed up just minutes after I switched, so that’s what matters.

16 thoughts on “Pressed For Words

  1. Hi Nancy, I am thinking about doing what you have done. In fact I did open a wordpress blog, but have not switched all my posts there. Scaredy cat! I will be watching you as you get this site the way you want it, the scout for the rest of us so to speak. Way to be brave!

    Frances at Faire Garden and Fairegarden

  2. Hi Nancy – So glad that I have now caught up with you. Hope you enjoy wordpress – it is less flexible than blogger in terms of the whole customization stuff. My textile blog is still with blogger – but I do prefer wordpress – and that is something I want to sort out this winter getting that over to W/P too. I like the reliability of wordpress.
    Warm regards
    Karen

  3. Good morning, gals. So far, so good, as far as WP goes. It’s pretty user-friendly and though I may play with templates for a day or so, it feels like a good fit. And it’s very easy to import your existing blog, photos and all.

  4. I have thought about it, but I have switched blogs so often I think I’m going to stay put and hope that people search me out while Stuart works out the bugs. In the past I’ve done all of the fixes and right after I fix my blog the problem solves itself anyway. I don’t have the money to pay for a blog either, so that pretty much seals the deal. Good to see you again though….

  5. Thanks for letting me know, Nancy. My only comment is I don’t like the snap preview thing that wordpress users have. I’m always interested in why people leave blogspot. I am entirely happy with it.

  6. Hi Nan! I’m so glad to have your visit. I was entirely happy with Blogspot, too — in fact, it’s a lot more versatile than WP and I’ve used Blogger for many years. But Blotanical, a community of garden bloggers that I belong to, has had trouble, recently and in the past, picking up Blogger feeds and posts, so I decided to be done with all that and switch to WP. My Blogger account and Soliloquy there are still intact, so I can change back if need be. :)

  7. Just a response to Nan’s comment – wordpress users can choose to have the “snap” thing turned off – I have turned it off on my blog as I find it a bit distracting.
    There are loads of templates out there – have fun testing them! :)
    Karen

  8. Hmm, I have been thinking along these lines, too, Nancy. There are a few features that interest me. For instance being able to directly respond to a commenter… It is certainly ironic that I decided to get active with Blotanical and the next day it crashed!

    gail

  9. Karen, thank you for letting me know. When I came by today, there was no snap! And I didn’t do a thing. It’s kind of nice that there are still some mysteries in life, eh?!

  10. You are so brave Nancy. I barely figured out how to set up one blog and still don’t know all the ins and outs of it so hats off to you. We’ll follow you no matter where you go!!

  11. I considerd WP when I started my blog back in December, but opted for Typepad because I don’t know enough about that custom stuff. I need someone to do the basics for me! But I love reading WP blogs, because, like Typepad, you just comment without all having to write in all that stuff. I hate reading blogs on Blogger because of that, but so many people are over there that you don’t want to miss out on their posts, so you go through the grind anyway. The only other one I would even consider is WP. I think your site is lovely, and I already have you changed on my Favs list, and now will change you on my Google Reader.
    Brenda

  12. Looks good Nancy. I did love the looks of your other one, though.
    I am pretty happy with WordPress. I don’t like all the extra things coming on and off, anything flashing, but it is easy to turn them off.

  13. Sandy- I liked the look of the other blog, too, and it was so “familiar”. If there were a way to duplicate it, I would. But, they say a change is as good as a rest. :) I’m getting comfortable here and the new header is sort of seasonal and a nice change as well. I’m with you – I don’t need or want the flashy stuff. :)

  14. Nancy, I noticed that you can’t click on your header to take you back to the home page of your blog. For example, when I’ve commented on a specific post, it only shows that post and with Blogger, all I had to do was click on the header and it then showed all the posts, not just the one. Have you noticed that, or is it just me?

    Kylee, there’s a “Home” tab at the top of the header; if you click on that, it will take you back to the home page. :)

  15. Hi Ms. Nancy! Remember me? I’m making the switch too. I like your new WordPress blog and I’ve added it to my blogroll. I’m still learning and having my share of growing pains too. I’ve yet to get all my sidebar stuff in yet. I had a three-column blog on Blogger, but my WordPress is only two. I’ll have to adjust I guess. Anyway, I found your WordPress blog via Gardening Gone Wild’s post on “Choosing a Blogging Platform.”

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

