The Mosaic That Is My Life

(click to enlarge for better viewing)

I was exploring kompoStella’s blog after she left a lovely comment on one of my posts, and I came across an exercise that looked like too much fun to ignore.

One is to answer a series of questions, listed below for those who might like to partake, by typing one’s answer into Flickr search and creating a mosaic (from their template) out of the photos that come up from your search.

– type your answer to each of the questions into Flickr search.
– using only the first page of results, choose your favourite image.
– copy and paste each of the URL’s into the mosaic maker set for 3 columns, 4 rows.
– create the mosaic

I tried to use photos that were more a representation of my answers, rather than a literal picture, and let me tell you, this gets introspective and interesting. Be warned: it can become time-consuming, too!

My answers were given in the following order:

1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9
10 11 12

if anyone cares to guess. :-)

Questions to be answered:

1. What is your first name?
2. What is your favourite food?
3. Where did you grow up?
4. What is your favourite colour?
5. Favourite drink?
6. Dream vacation?
7. Favourite dessert?
8. Favourite place on this planet?
9. What do you want to be when you grow up?
10. What do you love most in life?
11. One word to describe you?
12. Your blog name.

So that proper credit is given to the photographers, Flickr supplies the code for links to their page as it creates the mosaic:

1. Nancy through my eyes, 2. First Course: Scallops, 3. Lighthouse window view, Bay of Fundy., 4. Let’s Get Green! Please take a moment to read…, 5. Dom Coffee topped with whipped cream, 6. Three Cheers for Three Chairs, 7. Strawberry Shortcake, 8. Chester Basin fog, 9. …but in our hearts, 10. The Freedom (to Be), 11. the hidden depths of being real, 12. Silent Soliloquy

I hope you’ll ponder my answers and perhaps make a mosaic of your life as well. :-)

13 thoughts on “The Mosaic That Is My Life

  1. I’ll try that when I catch up with my work. Just wanted to say “hi” and wish you a beautiful day!
    Shirley

  2. FF&F — LOL…I didn't want to use any of the faces of people who came up when I searched for "nancy" – and I rather liked the window with the white petunias. Nancy is the birth place of Art Nouveau. I don't know…it just appealed, I guess. :) I have a thing about windows, too…perhaps one of these days I'll make that a post!

  3. I did this on June 9th – I’m too computer illiterate to take you there via link but you can visit my blog and scroll back if you just want to. Guess I need to do some organization and maintenance, eh? Yeah, I’d say so! I LOVE yours, Nancy!!! Looks just LIKE you!!! XO!

  4. Some fab pics in your mosaic Nancy. It’s exercises like this that make me wish I had high speed so I could participate.

  5. Nancy, great to see you played this too. I did it on my blog several months ago … I too found it fun!

    I envy your weather (re Peppers and Pelargoniums) … with our killer frosts for the past few weeks I don’t have much left — just the super hardy gang.

    Great to see you’re still bloggin’ and snappin’ (photos)!

    Diane

  6. Always bloggin and snappin, Diane! It’s good to see you. I’m sorry to hear you’ve had killing frost already. We’ve had some nippy nights, but it’s 28C here today. No frost in sight for a little while, at least. Come back soon!

  7. Oh this looks like too much fun Nancy and I do love to play around with Flickr! I will have to try this when I can grab a few extra minutes this weekend. Thank you for sharing!

  8. This looks a lot like you! It’s serene, quiet, humble, elegant, and very thought provoking! I love windows too. This is one of those post where you want to read the replies as much as the post.

  9. oh, your mosaic is wonderful, Nancy! great to see you did it too, especially since
    a) it looks like you had fun
    b) the result is such a great combination of romance, colours and the special dreamy yet poignant quality that characterises your blog and therefore must be… you?! ;-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

