Patience Rewards the Gardener

(photo credit – Jurek Durczak)

* * *

With fat red apples I begin,
Then add some sweetened cinnamon.
I place them in a cast iron pot
And wait to hear that first plop-plop.
Sweet applesauce it will become,
The best with pork or on hot bun.
I stir the fragrant fruit with spoon,
Anticipating bubbling soon.
The mixture steams, my arm gets tired,
Perhaps I should increase the fire.
And as the supper hour grows nigh,
I stand and stir, and stir and sigh.
I drum my fingers; patience roils.
It’s true, watched kettles never boil.
(c) 2008 Nancy J. Bond
13 thoughts on “Patience Rewards the Gardener

  1. I thought we were going to eat—and you say–the water hasn’t boiled yet??? Well, that just gives me time to get there. I love your poems and sayings the best. There is just something about you that warms all who pass your way. Thank you.

  2. Kathleen – don’t worry! I’m with you on that one…it’ll be autumn soon enough!

    Anna – that’s one of the sweetest things anyone has ever said, and I so appreciate your kind words. I guess that’s what we all hope for – to touch someone, somehow, on any given day. :)

  3. Oh, this was so descriptive, I was right there with you. I could smell the apples and the cinnamon. You’re definitely right about the watched pot!

    BTW – Thanks for being supportive of my new blog.

  4. I was there with you, your writing was so descriptive, Nancy. It is apple time, isn’t it? I can hardly wait to make applesauce.

  5. Oh, how beautiful that is, Nancy! You’re so good with words. So descriptive and poetic! Thanks for making me feel like I was there with you.
    Brenda

  6. The smell of apples baking or cooking is a very soothing scent. It makes me think of my grandma’s house. :) Lovely poem and photo.

  7. Hi Nancy — what a lovely poem. I started out thinking wistfully of hot, fragrant applesauce and then realized I’ve got a few apples no-one seems to be in any rush to eat, that it’s chilly here today, and that hot applesauce could be in my and my family’s immediate future! Thanks, in advance, from all of us.

    /krys

  8. Nancy, I thought when I started reading this: “This is a person who has made applesauce!” I well remember all those phases. As for waiting–try making a huge batch of apple butter on a wood stove. It took me three days. I haven’t made apple butter since then. Coincidence? I think not.

    Maybe your post will inspire me, as it has inspired others.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

