Plain, Honest and Upright

“Flowers have an expression of countenance as much as men or animals.
Some seem to smile; some have a sad expression; some are pensive and diffident; others again are plain, honest and upright, like the broad-faced
sunflower and the hollyhock.”
Henry Ward Beecher, “Star Papers: A Discourse of Flowers”

And, I would suggest, the lowly nasturtium, still happily blooming in its soda-bottle container. I’m still amazed to think that such beautiful blooms came from two tiny seeds.
17 thoughts on “Plain, Honest and Upright

  1. I never seem to have luck with these guys! Maybe I should do it like you did and see if I have better luck!
    Brenda

  2. Nancy, I just love the blooms on that nasturtium! I can’t remember if you mentioned what variety they are or not. If you did could you please tell us again as I want to add them to my list of things to grow next year. I love nasturtiums and the color of the one you are growing is just so lovely.

  3. Are you kidding? Nasties aren’t lowly–they climb (ha ha). Love the yellow and purple combo.
    ~ Monica

  4. Cindy – I bought these seeds at our local hardware store, and they were “Primrose Jewel” on the package. They are a double bloom and yes, I really like the soft yellow color. :) Hope this helps.

  5. I love the hollyhock, remembering it as a homey part of my youth, and the sunflower as a cheering presence now.

    Is that yellow nasturtium, or some other flower?

  6. Oops! I should have kept reading. It is nasturtium. I think I’ve only seen orange nasturtiums before. Lovely. :)

  7. Lovely pics Nancy and Yes, yellow is such a happy colour that it always seems to smile at you. It’s hard to be grumpy around such a bright colour.

  8. I love this. I love your photo essay of nasturtiams…combined with poetry and great photography. Nancy, every day I visit your site, you show something magical. You have a way of looking at the world that is very special; magic happens in a soda bottle container with two tiny seeds.
    There is a poem in that, and you express that and share it with others; That is also a gift.
    Warm Regards,
    Philip

  9. I love Nasturiums and yours are especially pretty. The quote is very nice too. :) It’s amazing that two tiny seeds created all that beauty.

  10. This experiment you tried has really been successful. It looks like they are quite happy to be in the soda bottle. and I don’t think they are “lowly” at all either. I love nasturtiums!! Your double yellow is especially pretty.

  11. So glad the nasturtiums are finally blooming! Such a pretty yellow–definitely a day brightener. Are these the same ones than began in a Bailey’s bottle or did you start them in this soda bottle? You definitely have a green thumb, Nancy.

  12. Wow nancy, they have grown wonderfully! Very pretty. I remember when they were wee little things with no blooms.

  13. How lovely! It is pretty amazing what can sprout out of a tiny seed.

    Now, as hard-hearted as it might sound, is this a variety of nasturtium the flowers of which might be included in a beautiful salad for a special occasion?

    /krys

  14. kd – not hard-hearted at all…I believe these nasturtiums are edible, though there is nothing on the seed package to indicate that, so I’d hate to steer anyone wrong. I’ll see if I can find out.

    Thanks everyone for your visits and kind words.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

