Home, Sweet Home

My daughter and her fiance just bought their first home — I’m so excited for them! They outgrew their cozy but tiny apartment shortly after my grandson was born, almost two years ago. So, I’m off to New Brunswick later today to help unpack in the new house, and do a final cleaning in the apartment they’re moving out of. I may even be able to putter in her garden. :) I’ll only be gone until the middle or end of the week, but I’ve scheduled some interesting quotes and points for you to ponder until I get back to regular posts.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

15 thoughts on “Home, Sweet Home”

  1. Nancy, this is such a coincidence! Our daughter and son-in-law just bought their first home, too, after deciding their apartment was just too small. I spent Wednesday helping them move. We’re going there tomorrow (Sunday) to help some more. Isn’t this fun?

    I’ll be blogging about it after our trip there tomorrow.

    Congrats to our kids! :-)

  2. Hi Nancy – thanks for visiting my blog. You are very good photographer! I noticed you have a link to the Canadian Diabetes Association and JDRF – a cause dear to our family as our teenage son has Type I. What an admirable cause …
    I’ll stop by again ..

  3. That’s always such a wonderful step in a person’s life! How exciting for them. It seems like the perfect time to buy right about now! Have a safe trip.

  4. What a charming, lovely home Nancy! It looks like a wonderful place for your grandson to grow up.

    Congratulations to your daughter and her fiance. May they enjoy many happy years making their dreams come true in their new home.

    Loved the video. The animation is enchanting. CSNY, and all their various combinations and solo works are all-time favorites of mine.

    I’m sure I have more of their albums in my collection than any other artist, and have seen more of their concerts than anyone else, with the possible exception of Carlos Santana.

  5. Beth – my two year old grandson (featured in the sidebar) was diagnosed with Type i diabetes at 16 months of age, just before Christmas last year. So the JDRF has become an important focus for us as well. I hope your son is doing well.

  6. That is exciting…we are 5-years in our first house. Such a great feeling and the neighborhood is great. Our yard has one dog instead of two cats ;-)

  7. So much fun to move into the first house! And for some reason, while I hate moving my own stuff, I seem to enjoy helping other people move their stuff.

  8. My youngest daughter and son-in-law have bought three houses since they were married in 2002, and about to move into the third. I hope they’re settled for awhile! You have a wonderful time, Nancy!
    Brenda

  9. How exciting for them. I remember when my daughter and SIL bought their house a few years ago, and I had so much fun helping them move. It is funny how you enjoy helping your children move, but if you had to move, it would be work not fun.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  10. Nancy, you have a heart so tender and giving. Count me as one having a newly married son with their precious home. It is so sweet to see your child get a home of their own. We have to be careful not to rush in and give them the world. My dil is easy to buy for but she wants it to be her house. I want to spoil them rotten. I need me cute grandbaby!

    My husband and I loved your Our House video.

  11. That was such a fun video, Nancy. Did you make it?

    Congrats to your daughter and her fiance on purchasing their first home. :)

  12. I love that video. It captures the essence of love and home and life. I’ve always thought “Our House” was a wonderful song. I’m happy for your girl and the beginning of her new life.

  13. Nancy, How exciting for your daughter. New Brunswick caught my eye, right across the bridge over the St. John river from Calais? I was born in Calais and my family is from that area and many still reside there. Are you close to here? I had no idea. My little brother is a border patrol agent there too. Isn’t the world a tiny place?

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

