Color in My Sunset Sky

“Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.” – Rabindranath Tagore

I snapped these shots from the balcony a few nights ago when the clouds looked like they were going to catch a beautiful sunset. Moments later, dark, menacing clouds rolled across the sky, threatening a thunderstorm, but it never developed. As quickly as they rolled in, the sky parted and they rolled away to the east. The sun dappled the tops of these trees about ten minutes after the first photo was taken. I had hoped to catch some lightning shots, so that was a bit disappointing, but he sky was magnificent just the same. Doesn’t it just speak of POWER?

11 thoughts on “Color in My Sunset Sky

  1. The color and shape of these clouds does evoke the power of a potential storm — a spectacular few minutes – with an excellent viewpoint from your balcony.

    Thanks-
    Lis

  2. We would run for cover if that was in our skies. I have always wanted to capture lightening too and I’m still hopeful. The best I’ve done is get a rainbow. Good to see you today.

  3. I love these summer showers with or without lightning – It is so hard to capture lightning. But wide angle lens and constant 1 seconds exposures over some minuttes and using a tripod of course makes it possible. Sometimes I lye in my deckchair and watch the clouds of a dramtic thunderstorm passing – but hurry inside when the rain comes. Have a nice week Nancy!

  4. Incredible and powerful Nancy, it must have been awe inspiring to see it.

    I thought of you today when we had finished our walk at the Greenway and passed several condos with balconies filled with trees and potted plants. They were lovely gardens and I knew yourswould be, too.

  5. Beautiful photos, Nancy. My husband and I love to sit in our rockers on the porch and watch the thunderstorms. A special treat to me is to watch the rain on the surface of our pond, it transforms! I love close up photography…truly enjoyed my visit..will be back!

  6. We never see anything quite like that in San Francisco. I love all the images. The last one is incredible with the contrast of the dark section with bits of color in the lower left and the sky.just wonderful to look at.

  7. Fantastic photos, Nancy. I love the dark storm clouds as long as they pass over us and don’t bring any real storms. They certainly do evoke images of power.

  8. Great pictures…it is always nice to catch the sunset on some clouds, but equally inspiring to see some dark clouds with potential. A warm storm in the summer is great to watch…although I have to constantly wipe my glasses of rain.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

