We’re Really Rockin’

“It’s summertime — time to sit out on the porch and rock for a while. Rocking soothes the soul, comforts aching bones, and sets our thoughts adrift.

Ben Franklin extolled the merits of the rocking chair in the 1780s. By the early 19th century, Americans were making many types of rockers. Several U.S. presidents made history with their rocking chairs: Abraham Lincoln was assassinated while he sat in a rocking chair, William McKinley planned his presidential campaign from his porch rocker, and John F. Kennedy brought the rocking chair to the Oval Office.

A porch with a rocker or two is a friendly and welcoming place. But more than that, a rocking chair invites us to slow down, relax, and enjoy life.” – Farmer’s Almanac

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

11 thoughts on “We’re Really Rockin’”

  1. So true. We have Cracker Barrel restaurants where you can stop and eat while traveling that have rockers all across the front porch.
    Donna

  2. I’m an advocate of the rocking chairs’ second cousin, the porch swing. I rarely sit still but there I sit every day.

  3. I haven’t seen a rocking chair in years – they were more popular when I was a child – possible due to our houses getting smaller. But I do envy you your porches, not something you see in England.

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

  4. How nice for you that summertime means rocking on the porch. We do that in the winter around here.Too hot in summertime.

  5. I just love the idea of rocking chairs but I get a little seasick when I use them. The same with porch swings. I love them but I have to be careful.

  6. Love the image, and I’m just a bit envious (in a nice way of course). My dream house would have a great room with rocking chairs by the hearth. It would also have a wide veranda a wide veranda where one could rock, read and drink tea in thunderstorms while listening to the rain falling in her garden.

  7. I do love a rocking chair ~ something about that motion is so soothing to me. Interesting that what is comforting to some people makes others sick. I never thought of that.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

