Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

No, really. Who is coming to dinner? Whatever or whomever it is, they like things spicy. :) I discovered the damage to my otherwise very healthy jalapeno pepper plants this morning. After taking this photo, I notice what looks like a small “fly” on this leaf; I tried to highlight it with a darker circle without obscuring the thing too much. If you enlarge the photo, it might be clearer. Any guesses?

I sprayed the plant with a mixture of dish soap and water early this morning and I hope that will discourage the critter!

This teeny new nasturtium leaf (above) is part of the “Bailey’s Plant” and
was sweet against the early morning sunlight.

Two little buds on a salmon geranium…

Another rose that I can’t identify — you rose growers and lovers were so helpful yesterday! Please identify this bush if you know it. It’s extremely thorny, as you may be able to see from the photos; its bloom looks very much like a carnation before it opens with slightly feathered petals; it has a heavy scent; and it blooms from June until the frost kills it. There have been blooms in the past in late October.

A red petunia, backlit by the morning sun…
This little fellow looked quite lost for a while this morning, but he eventually flew away to another shrub. It looks like it could be a baby sparrow, though “newborns” are not my forté.

Finally, the last of the blooms from the rose I posted yesterday. Most of the petals have already fallen, but these beauties were peeking out from a leaf, with a bud or two yet to open.

All photos were taken from my balcony while I enjoyed my first coffee, which just goes to show that you don’t have to look very far or very hard to see Mother Nature at work. :)

18 thoughts on “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner?

  1. I’m not sure what that little bug is, but he sure must be hungry! I hope your remedy discourages him and his friends.

    Those are interesting roses – look like carnations with rose foliage. I never seen one like that before.

  2. Oh my, someone is hungry! I would suspect that you might find the culprit somewhere in the pot, especially if you are on a balcony. Your pictures are fabulous Nancy!

  3. I enlarged it and looked. I don’t know much about pests. Not of the bug variety anyhow! Loved the sweet little bird. Reminded me of what I went through last weekend with ours. And that geranium with the new growth… You got a really good shot of that one, Nancy!
    Brenda

  4. *Chey, I’ve poked around the top bit of soil and checked the under sides of all the leaves and even examined the stalk closely, but haven’t seen anything yet. I keep sneaking outside for a peak, hoping I’ll catch the beggar with his mouth full! Hee!

  5. Hi there,

    think the missing chunk of leaf is the work of a leaf-cutter bee.

    The pale pink rose from yesterday looks just like rosa canina, which I think someone mentioned yesterday.

    The red crimped edge one I think is a rugosa cross, called either Grootendorst Supreme, or FJ Grootendorst, both of which a red variants of one of several sports, which also include pink and white forms. If its not fragrant, its a far bet thats its name.

    Hope that helos you track them down.

    Zoë

  6. Zoe’s right; a cutter bee has been visiting. Your sparrow might be a chipping sparrow; it’s got a rusty cap, darkish beak, and it’s on the ground. If it would sing or grow up, I’d be more sure.

    don

  7. Nancy, now that I am back online it was a real treat today to visit your lovely blog again. In fact, I am doing some updating on my blog and have added your blog to my favorites list. I love your sharp photos and well-written text. Best regards, Jon at Mississippi Garden in Vicksburg, Mississippi on 7-4-08

  8. Zoe and iboy — thanks for the identification on the muncher! Any thoughts on what to use to dissuade the beggar? As stated before, I applied a spray of dish soap and water today…s’pose that will work? Thanks again.

    Jon — it’s good to have your visits again! Thank you so much for your very generous comments…I’m pleased you enjoy my blog, as I do yours. I look forward to future visits. :)

  9. Nancy,

    It’s hard to get mad at a leaf cutter bee! They might mess up the leaves but they are still important pollinators.

    How lovely to sit on your balcony and have nature out there for you to enjoy and photograph! Fragrant roses are the best roses. Bailey’s nasturtium is looking good.

    gail

  10. Yes, the leaf-cutter bees are important, Nancy, so if you can bear a few artistic scallops…just pretend he’s pinking your leaves like the petals of the Grootendorst rose, because he won’t hurt the plant.
    Which reminds me I have to visit my friend in Falmouth as her roses are at the peak of bloom….

  11. I like that comment…All from your balcony. If you pay attention, the wonders you can see.

    Isn’t that nasturtium leaf so cute? I know that the little sparrow is.

  12. No help here I’m afraid but I hope whatever it is has been stopped in its tracks.

    Really love that nasturtium picture. Do you use a tripod? Why don’t my close-ups look that good?! Siiiiigh.
    Love the (new to me) header too. Clever, creative you.

  13. I see somebody got in ahead of me on identifying the Grootendorst rose (a rugosa), but I got to learn about leaf-cutter bees, thanks to all the commenters who shared that info.

  14. Coffee on a balcony complemented by abundant treasures of nature – what could be more perfect? Beautiful, simply beautiful.

  15. I love the way you captured the fuzzy leaves on the geranium. Your blog is a visual and literate treat for me.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

