Purple Clover

The Purple Clover
There is a flower that bees prefer,
And butterflies desire;
To gain the purple democrat
The humming-birds aspire.

And whatsoever insect pass,
A honey bears away
Proportioned to his several dearth
And her capacity.

Her face is rounder than the moon,
And ruddier than the gown
Of orchis in the pasture,
Or rhododendron worn.

She doth not wait for June;
Before the world is green
Her sturdy little countenance
Against the wind is seen,

Contending with the grass,
Near kinsman to herself,
For privilege of sod and sun,
Sweet litigants for life.

And when the hills are full,
And newer fashions blow,
Doth not retract a single spice
For pang of jealousy.

Her public is the noon,
Her providence the sun,
Her progress by the bee proclaimed
In sovereign, swerveless tune.

The bravest of the host,
Surrendering the last,
Nor even of defeat aware
When cancelled by the frost.

– Emily Dickinson

10 thoughts on “Purple Clover

  1. Very nice Nancy! The clover seems a simple flower but when you look at it it is quite intricate and then there is Emily!

  2. Wow, Nancy, you know more poems than I could imagine anyone knowing! You must have volumes of poetry! They’re all so beautiful too.
    Brenda

  3. When I was a child I loved to gently pull the little purple flowers out of the large flower head and suck on the white end. They taste very sweet. No wonder clover honey is so wonderful!

  4. Now this is one of Emily’s poems I don’t remember ever reading. A few years ago my dad had a field of clover, and a local beekeeper brought his hives over for a couple of weeks to feed on the clover. I don’t know enough about bees to know why, but apparently they enjoyed it.

  5. Great shot Nancy, and beautiful poem as well! I always take note of the flowers that the bees prefer these days.

  6. Stunning. I love seeing fields of red clover, and when it lines our roadways during the summer months. Lovely post.

  7. I was very please with myself for recognizing ED before scrolling down and seeing the name–and I don’t remember seeing this poem of hers. I also liked the Longfellow. Great pictures as always. I go to your blog when I need a lift.

  8. I love Emily Dickinson’s poetry, but what caught my eye was the Purple Clover blossoms as when I was a girl back many years ago, in IL, I used to pick the Purple Clover blossoms and pick off the clover and eat them as they were so tasty. Boy did that bring back memories. Thanks.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

