B.Y.O.B.

So. If nasturtiums will grow in a bottle, and tomatoes will grow upside down, then why not upside-down nasturtiums in a bottle? In a bag.

Well, that’s one way to recycle a Pepsi bottle. :) I cut a dime-sized hole in the bottom of a pop bottle (with a hot stencil cutter), and then cut off the cap screw threads to make a larger opening at the top. I then put a small amount of pre-moistened soil in the bottom, inserted three nasturtium seedlings and gently pressed them into the soil, just enough to hold them in place, then filled the rest of the bottle with more soil, watered them thoroughly, and voila!

Having put a wrap or two of duct tape on the middle of the bottle for added stability, and also so the roots wouldn’t get scorched in a clear container, it looked pretty, um…recycled when it was finished. So, I found some floral fabric and hot glued it onto the bottle, using an elastic to gather it at the top — tight enough to hold it in place, but not so tight that it would be difficult to water through the top opening. So far, so good. As you can see, it’s already putting out some tiny new leaves.

Ideally, if I were making one again, I’d sit down at the sewing machine and gather both ends with elastic, much as you would the opening of a sleeve. But for a spur of the moment project, it turned out okay, I guess. If the bloody wind EVER goes down, it will hang from it’s own hook on one of the balcony posts that gets lots of early sun…and hopefully produce some pale yellow blossoms!

13 thoughts on “B.Y.O.B.

  1. Wow, and all I did with my nasturtiums was put them in the ground by fences.

    Now I know what to do with our empty plastic bottles!

  2. For a gardener with very llimited space, you certainly are being inventive. Looks great and can’t wait to see it bloom. Did you know you can eat nasturtium blooms?

  3. Well, how innovative is that! And you’re recycling! I think it is very clever and I can’t wait to see what it looks like if it blooms.
    Brenda

  4. You are so creative Nancy! Why not upside down nasturtiums in a bottle, in a bag? Great recycling project. Love the fabric:).

  5. Wonderfully creative idea Nancy. The fabric you chose is beautiful and will be great with the yellow nasturtiums.

  6. I love this idea! I’ve got lots of fabric in my sewing room,, and if I put an elastic at the top and bottom (like you suggested) these could be re-used every year.

  7. Nancy .. it is as good as anything I have seen on the Shopping Channel and a lot less in dollars !! LOL
    Great job .. I love nasturtiums but so do these wicked bugs in my back yard .. I’ll visit yours for now on !
    Joy

  8. You never cease to amaze me with your creativity, Nancy. I really love this idea and might even try this on my own front porch next year! Keep us posted as to your progress, babe.

  9. What a wonderfully clever and inventive idea! How you thought of that, I’ll never know but it’s excellent! I’ll be looking forward to an update.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

