How Does Your Garden Grow?

The nasturtiums have found their way to the light and are now about an inch above the top of the bottle. :) A word of caution to anyone who’s going to try planting in a bottle: be careful not to over-water. The soil inside the bottle will stay wet much longer than an open pot, of course, and I nearly drowned my pour seedling.


The petunias I planted in various containers are opening up, though they’re still very small, and the jalapeño peppers are also looking good. I nestled a large stone in the center of their pot (stones hold heat as well as add an interesting spot in a nearly bare container) — this pretty rock was scavenged in Scots Bay, very near where jodi of bloomingwriter lives.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

12 thoughts on “How Does Your Garden Grow?”

  1. Maybe I should put some rocks in my containers – it’s been so cold here!

    Your nasturtium looks very healthy! I’m glad it didn’t drown.

  2. Won’t they look great spreading out of the bottle? An interesting experiment. Even though small, your petunias and peppers look so healthy.

  3. They are looking good and healthy. A thought occured to me; when I plant bulbs in containers void of drainage holes, I add charcoal to the mix, it is supposed to stop things getting nasty and harming the plants and rotting. Might be worth thinking about?

    Zoë

  4. I can’t help it, I get excited with each bloom opening, even the buds are reason to celebrate…I never tire of it all! I love stones or shells in a container, I think they add something personal to the plantings.

    Gail

  5. The Jalapeno peppers look really healthy. Dont you just love nasturtium leaves they are so pretty.
    Regards
    Karen

  6. I am curious about contiuation of the experiment :) bottle is really nice :) interesting way of recycling.
    Greetings,

  7. I collect rocks from many places. I love to have them scattered around the garden.

    Your experiment with growing in bottles will be interesting. I don’t do containers very well so I doubt I could have success with a bottle. However I do have a plant in an old cracked teapot that I didn’t want to throw out. It has lived for some years.

  8. Your bottle garden is brilliant, I can’t wait to see how it works out. Zoe’s charcoal comment sounds logical, didn’t we add charcoal to the terrariums so popular in the seventies? Not that you would remember that! ;->
    Frances

  9. My blog still isn’t up but I’m going to try and post Anna-Flowergardengirl
    Love the Nasturtiums in the bottle–I’m going to try that!! What a great idea. I did plant some in a few buckets and my window boxes. Mine are up about the same size as yours.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

