Seeking Light

No thyme in this bottle, though I suspect it would have grown just as well. About a week ago, I put about 3″ of Dollar Store marbles in the bottom of this bottle, for drainage and weight; added cactus potting mix (again for better drainage) to the taper of the neck; and plopped in 4-5 nasturtium seeds, covering them with an inch or so of soil and temping it down with a piece of dowling. I’ve watered them gently and sparingly because it’s impossible to know how dry the soil gets inside.

I planted several Primrose Jewel seeds (a soft, lemon yellow…double blooms) in this opaque bottle, more as an experiment than anything. I figured they would germinate, but I wasn’t sure they would continue to grow in the absence of light. Plants seek out light, of course, and I guess these tiny green leaves peeking out near the top of the bottle are proof of that.

Hopefully, another seed or two will germinate and I’ll eventually have blooms tumbling down over this pretty container. Something unique for the balcony, at least. I’ll let you know how they progress.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

15 thoughts on “Seeking Light”

  1. Intrigued by this, it will be interesting to see how well they do.

    I like unusual containers and often plant up old wellies and shoes with semervivums, or trailing plants. My postman thinks I have a screw loose. He’d be right!

  2. What a clever idea! I can’t wait to see how these flowers turn out. I have a nearly empty Bailey’s bottle I could try this with, too, if your experiment is successful. Of course, I’d have to finish off the contents first :)

  3. I never thought of trying something like this! It always seems a shame to have interesting bottles and nothing to do with them. I hope the flowers turn out so I can try it — well maybe I will try it anyways. :-)

  4. I love your great idea. Now I know what I can do with my blue bottles!!!
    Thank you for sharing this interesting idea with us.
    Have a great time
    Wurzerl

  5. Nancy, what a coincidence that I’m reading this after 8 straight work days, while I’m enjoying a Godiva chocolate martini! Hmmm. . . that Godiva bottle’s not bad actually ;-O!

    Very cool idea!

  6. I love the seedlings peaking out of the bottle and the yellow of the flower will be beautiful nancy, that is a particularly nice yellow.

    gail

  7. What a great idea to share. I have some old bottles begging to have something done with them and will give this a go.Will be checking back to your blog regularily to see your photo updates.

    PS Your photos are lovely.

  8. Maybe you can serve your harvest of nasturtium blossoms atop a crisp salad with a glass of chilled Chablis?

  9. Nasturtiums are among my favourite garden flowers, and I loved this images of them popping up. Are these orange?

  10. Thank you all for stopping by to say hello. In the face of the snags Blotanical has had lately, it’s very nice to know some regulars–and some newcomers–still come to visit. :)

    To those of you who have bottles that you’re contemplating using, go for it! It’s a fun exercise and those tall skinny containers can sit politely just about anywhere…even in the middle of a summer dinner table. I chose nasturtiums because I like the way they tend to sprawl as they grow — other flowers I considered were zinnias and impatiens. Just one word of caution…water sparingly! The soil does not dry out inside the bottle as it would in an open pot — I nearly drowned my seedling on the weekend and had to pour water out. Now I’m hoping it won’t get mold, but it’s back in the sun.

    *kerrdelune — The nasturtiums I planted are a double bloom in a pale, lemon yellow. There should be a picture if you click on the link. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

