I Can Sing a Rainbow…

“Red and yellow and pink and green
Purple and orange and blue
I can sing a rainbow,
sing a rainbow,
sing a rainbow too!”

On the short drive to my aunt’s house today, I think we came across just about every color of the rainbow. It was a gorgeous, truly summery day!

Would you look at the dandelions?! Under that perfect blue sky was a sea of yellow. It was rather difficult to capture just how many of these sunny “earth stars” covered the fields and hills, but the photo below will give you some idea.


At the end of the driveway, the last of the late bloomers were just about exhausted, but still displaying a bright splash of color. At the base of a large yew, there were butter yellow, variegated yellow and red that looked like orange sherbet, and flame red tulips. A few daffodils still had some color, but were starting to bow their heads.


In one of my uncle’s sadly neglected perennial beds, two different hostas emerged through last year’s leaf litter.


The red poppies have grown in leaps and bounds since our last visit, and everywhere you looked on the lawn, there were violets! Little purple darlings.


A large wooden planter, tipped on its side for painting (which never got finished) was full of what I believe are chives. They had a distinct onion/garlic taste, so I’m guessing they’re chives. And I can think of 100 uses for that abandoned tub!

My uncle called this plant Elephant Ear, but I’m not sure that’s what it is. It grows very tall and the leaves do get quite large, but the hollow stocks/stems look like a bamboo when they’re mature (though I’m sure it’s not bamboo…) — any guesses or confirmations? It spreads prolifically, as you can see from the shot below where the lawn hasn’t been mowed yet. My uncle cursed it. :)


Lastly, these beautiful reddish-pink blooms of a quince bush looked delectable against that blue sky.


When we got home, I planted a flowerbox on the balcony railing with Dreams Red petunias and Riviera Pink lobelia, and another clay pot with the same. And my S/O made his contribution to the garden by planting 4 jalapeno pepper plants. (Hey, it’s the first interest he’s ever really shown, so I can dig the peppers!)

11 thoughts on “I Can Sing a Rainbow…

  1. I have just ripped out my red petunias because the heat is making them too leggy. I wish I could be planting them now as you are since they are among my favorites, and red is the predominant color in one section of my garden. I have just planted red begonias to take their place. It is amazing how many plants we use in the fall and winter, and you use in the spring and summer.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  2. Wow, I do believe the field in your photo has out-dandelioned any field I’ve seen! And I thought our lawn was a sea of yellow :)
    What an appropriate name for the sweet violets…little purple darlings. They are, for sure.
    I too found a beautiful flowering quince to photograph a week or so ago. Aren’t they gorgeous?
    Tulips always make such a bright splash, and the hostas are tough survivors.
    I don’t recall seeing the ‘Elephant Ear’ plant before. It’s different from the plant of the same name that looks like a huge philodendron. I would probably curse it’s invasiveness too :)
    I enjoy all your photos Nancy, but the top photo is especially beautiful.

  3. nancy,

    The sky and earth stars are fabulous I enlarged them for a full screen view, even better. The violets are a sweet blue on my monitor! Are you care taking your aunt and uncles property? I know you referenced this before, but I can’t recall…

    Gail

  4. This is what I love about spring–all the glorious colors. I love your tulips; mine are all bloomed out, and I’m always sad to see them go.
    The “elephant ears” plant does look a little bit like elephant ears, but I didn’t think they spread like that. I have trouble sometimes distinguishing between certain weeds and flowers, which is why I often have tall weeds in my garden!

  5. I can’t tell for sure, but the plant looks like what we had at our house before this one. We called it bamboo. The only ‘control’ was to mow right up next to it. We had maybe a five foot deep area that went along the whole driveway. It had little white flowers early in the year, and then the green leaves all summer. When the leaves died in the fall, the neighborhood kids used to knock it down. We made a party out of it with cider and apple crisp. I have seen people used powerful chemicals that don’t touch it. I think the way we did it was the best. It grew in that one area, and we just mowed very diligently along the side so it wouldn’t spread out into the field beside it. There is nothing like it for spreading except goutweed. (shudder)

  6. oh dear, “Blogger” is still at it. I just wrote a long note and it disappeared into Blogger ether. To be brief this time, I was basically saying how much growth there is where you are and to thank you for the rainbow of colours. Here where we’re north of 55 the leaves are just beginning to unfurl on some of the trees and the first dandelion appeared yesterday.

    D.

  7. As always, thank you all for your wonderful comments.

    *Gail – yes, we’re keeping an eye on my aunt’s house and property, hopefully to move in there one of these days. My uncle died last summer and my aunt has been in a nursing home ever since.

    *Nan – thanks for letting me know about your bamboo. That’s actually what the stalks look like as it grows, so it could very well be what it is. It does spread like crazy!

  8. Your photo with the blue sky and the sea of dandelions was stunning. My dandelions are sparse by comparison.

  9. Whether you move in or not, Nancy – you’ve got the fields around you and the earth underneath you this spring… and somehow I think your uncle would be grateful that you’re there.

    That Canadian Bamboo is very intriguing – any chance it could be Giant Polyganum, sometimes called American bamboo?

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

