Flash Your Stash

I was tagged for a garden photo meme on Michelle’s My Grandpa’s Garden. Normally, I’d be happy to oblige, and I think it’s a very creative and interesting meme. However, as my present gardening is confined to whatever containers I can squeeze onto my balcony, I’m not sure I have much to offer as a participant. Most of the photos I have of former gardens are on 35mm transparencies which need to be scanned — a someday project.

But, I’ll give it a go and can probably find at least one photo that meets the criteria. Here is what Michelle asked of meme participants:

1. Flash Your Seed Stash – Show us where you keep your extras. Or, if your like me, dump that big bag onto the living room floor and grab the camera!

Well, I’m afraid the extent of my seed stash is an opened package of double nasturtiums. You don’t really need to see a photo of those, I’m sure, though they are a lovely, light lemon color. I also have a few packets of seeds my daughter brought home from Switzerland, but I was too late getting them started for this year — they’re all Alpine plants and need cold weather to germinate. So, that takes care of the seeds.

2. Your Favorite Garden Photo

Taken of my older daughter, early in the morning, over twenty years ago. It’s more an in-the-garden photo, than one of a garden, but it’s one of my favorites.

“Spring has returned. The Earth is like a child that knows poems.”
– Rainer Maria Rilke

3. The Secret Spot – Take a picture of that part of the yard that you’ve given up hope on, nothing will grow, sun doesn’t shine, there is no hope. No yard is perfect!

Again, no photos close at hand. I believe the most troublesome spot I had in any former gardens was the hard, clay soil that surrounded a small pond. We had had the pond dug when the foundation for the new house was done and the excavated soil was left in large, clumpy banks for an entire season. When it came time to plant, it was torture to try to amend the soil that had dried into lumps that resembled cement! I eventually got a few lilies to bloom there, and several deciduous trees, but that was about it.

4. Your favorite garden tool – you know it, you love it, its not getting enough facetime on your blog – showcase it!

At the present time, I guess my favorite tool is a simple spade, just large enough to make planting holes in the containers I use.

5. Your garden rainbow. Go out into the garden and try to find a picture to represents each color in the rainbow, whether all in one photo or separate!

Alas, once again, there’s not enough in bloom on my balcony just yet to fill in that rainbow spectrum. But I can post a photo of a rainbow!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 thoughts on “Flash Your Stash”

  1. Nancy, what a gorgeous photo of your daughter. The rainbow is beautiful too. You’re an artist with a camera!

  2. Interesting meme. I might pick it up when there is nothing else to write about.
    Understandable why you picked this photo as your favorite garden picture. Gardens are meant to be used and enjoyed. Your picture truly shows that.

  3. Nancy,

    What a lovely photo of your daughter. Is she the mother of your beautiful grandson? I can’t see photos of my son as a child without being instantly transported to the time I was the mother of a little boy, not a grown man!

    Gail

  4. I think you did well with the challenge considering your balcony status! That is a darling photo of your daughter in the garden. I can see why it’s a favorite.

  5. What a beautiful photo of your daughter! I’m assuming you’ve had it framed & mounted. I still have to do that with photos of my kids from when they were toddlers & liked to have their photo taken in the garden. (Now they usually run screaming.)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

