The Whole World In His Hands

“We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.” – Native American Proverb

[Plaster cast of grandson’s hand at 18 months
which he made in daycare and gave me for my birthday.]

Earth Day seemed like the perfect opportunity to launch a new blog, All Nature, My Garden. I intend to explore Nova Scotia’s fields, forests and flora over the coming months and will share these native discoveries on this blog. I may not post daily, as I do on Soliloquy; most of my jaunts will be weekend events, but I hope to gather enough photos and information to make several posts a week.

Today, Earth Day, take a moment to think about the legacy we’re leaving our children, and theirs. What will you do today to celebrate this wonderful planet…what will you do to help keep it that way? I’ve seen high school students cleaning roadsides on their lunch hour, people raking lawns and gathering up winter windfall. If nothing else, take time to smell the roses today and observe the life that is so abundant at this time of rebirth. It will awaken your spirit.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “The Whole World In His Hands”

  1. I’ve been really busy this week and did just a quick post this morning about Earth Day. We must have something in common, Nancy, because I used the same proverb! I like your photo much better, though–how fitting to use the imprint of your grandson’s hand. And your message is so eloquent. Happy Earth Day to you!

  2. A poignant post, Nancy, on this day of reflection. I hear your heart and most certainly will look forward to viewing your Nova Scotia native discoveries.

  3. I can’t wait to learn more about the flora and fauna of beatiful Nova Scotia through your talented writing and gifted photography. What a great idea for another blog!

  4. Thank you for posting about Earth Day…I completely forgot about it, much to my shame. I have taken time today to be in the garden and fill my spirit…

    can’t wait to see your nature adventures!!

    gail

  5. Hi nancy, I look forward to reading the new blog. Very nice picture/collage of baby’s hand and the earth.

  6. OOOOOHHHH! A double yellow nasturtium?? You must take pics when it blooms…I can’t wait to see it… you know they are edible…wouldn’t that be adorable in a summer salad?

  7. You new wild plant blog sound very interesting. Will be eagerly awaiting the first post. Hopefully the earth is more resilient than we think but we sure have done a good bit of damage already.

  8. The new blog sounds like a great idea. I would love to see photos of Novia Scotia’s natural beauty.

    Jan Always Growing

  9. How aptly and eloqently put. I shall go visit your other site. And your grandson’s gift: what better gift for you! Yes, you are so right, Nancy. Our children shall inherit the earth. And unfortunately here in America, the national debt run up by mortal fools in Washington DC and thereabouts. Horror! As I write this to you, plumbers are jackhammering the middle of the inside of my house. Talk about the earth! It is all over my hallway!
    Brenda

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

