Show Me Your Garden…

Note: Because I posted late last night and it has almost disappeared on the list, I thought I would pose the same question again today as I’m interested to read everyones’ answers on this one.

***

(Photo taken on grounds of Prescott House Museum, Starr’s Pt., NS)

“Show me your garden and I shall tell you what you are.” – Alfred Austin

Something to ponder: does your garden style and content reflect who you are? If so, do you think it is an intentional or unconscious thing? Or do you strive to make your garden what you are not? :)
Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

22 thoughts on “Show Me Your Garden…”

  1. Don’t you just HATE how that happens? I left my answer on your other post, but I couldn’t just pick a post and not leave a comment, could I?

  2. Nancy .. what a good question ! .. I hadn’t thought it might be subconcious .. but I knew that I wanted a specimen or “zoo” garden .. I want to try at least one ? of everything I can pack in here .. yet my greatest wish is for a totally private garden that no one can see from the outside. Now that would be heaven for me : )
    So .. hum .. that could mean a lot of things couldn’t it ?
    Joy
    PS .. the plants I do fall in love with .. naturally I have more than one ! LOL

  3. Mine’s informal, relaxed, and peaceful.

    Being in the shade as it is, it’s not as exuberant and colorful as gardens I’ve had at previous homes. Maybe that is a bit reflective of me at this stage in my life – calmer, more understated, and more focused on foundation (foliage) than frills (blooms.)

  4. I think I probably my garden style reflects what I am not. That is; calm. A place wehere I can indulge my femininity and not be seen as weak. I try to create a space that is my sanctuary, a place I feel safe and able to reflect and introvert, a place were I find it much easier to empty my mind and just be. Nothing soothes my soul as much as being in the garden, digging , pruning and just enjoying the simple pleasure of Nature’s artisty.

  5. In my case I’d guess that my style is pretty unconcious. My gardening style is affected by the constraints of my property layout, climate and budget.

    The things that wouldn’t change no matter where I lived or how much money I had for gardening are that I like lots of bright, juicy colours and always have (the more the better!) and I like gardens that are a bit on the wild side.

    The funny part is that I’m a quiet, homebody type of person and an introvert (I like people in small doses, lol!). Not wild in any way.

    What an interesting question :)

  6. nancy, you know it really does…there are some whimsical and thoughtful aspects to this garden. Underlying it all is the knowing that this garden is a nod and bow to its cedar glady garden conditions.

    Deliberate? Not when I began but it is now a reflection of my valuing the beauty, practicality and ecology of native gardening.

    Gail

  7. Wonderful reflective post Nancy! I think my garden is probably reflective of who I am, surrounded by unruly beauty, always trying to keep it organized and simple, but giving in to it’s wild and wonderful ways.

  8. Nancy, I think my garden just evolved in harmony with the climate I have chosen to garden. My garden style would perhaps be different, if I had a desert garden or a cold climat garden. I like exuberance, bold plants, but also small , tiny ones, what I dont like is uniformity, yes,I would say it shows what I am.

  9. Hhhhhmmmmmmm……. a little of both for me. I love color in my garden and we have plenty of that. Also variety. And secluded, quiet garden spots. So that’s me. But then my hubbie and I years ago decided to create a Tuscany style garden to reflect, well, our dreams.

  10. Yes. Mostly unconscious as I tend to be just that. It’s mostly finding interesting plants and sticking them in a empty spot.

    Beautiful path, by the way. I been wanting to install a path around the house but thinking about all the work involved has persuaded me to inaction :)

  11. Is this your garden Nancy? If so, it’s beautiful. I go for privacy in my garden and whatever makes me happy. Sometimes that means plants change to reflect current fancies.

  12. *Kathleen — I SO wish this were my garden. :) It’s a small part of the extensive gardens found at Prescott House Museum, about a half hour’s drive from where I live.

  13. My garden is a reflection of the climate limitations here rather than what I would really like, which is a cottage garden. In this climate, a cottage garden would be possible, but then the water bill would shoot through the roof. However, I think I’m beyond spending the time to garden to that degree, so my current desert landscaped space works well at the age. It’s plenty of work, but manageable–at least for another year.
    Aiyana

  14. YES! My garden is so much a reflection of me. I don’t consciously say to myself, “This garden is going to represent me,” but my personality and taste naturally fall into place there.

  15. What a question. I know (at some level) the garden is a reflection of myself – but as it is work in progress I am not sure what scruffy shrubs and old stones walls says about me. (lol)
    Something for me to ponder through the day
    Regards
    Karen

  16. I nearly missed this post, thanks for reposting, we are always away on the weekends, visiting offspring. Back to your most excellent question, like the interior of one’s house, how can a garden not reflect the gardener on some level? Unless it has been professionally done, but who among us has that? Or would even want such a thing? I plant what pleases me and will grow, the two criteria. things get moved, tossed, new ones added, trying to make it pleasing to view from inside the house and out. No style really, just lots of trial and error. I guess that is my style!

  17. I think my garden does reflect who I am, or at least, it reflects my interests right now. I am very much into photography and attracting birds and butterflies to my garden so I am gardening around that theme.
    I would also like to have a tranquil private sanctuary, a place that sooths and relaxes me. I have nothing like that right now.

  18. You do ask interesting questions, Nancy~ but how to answer? We’ve moved a few times, always into houses with a few years on them. And even though Philo and I have been married a long time, we’re two different people.

    Even if I want the garden to reflect who I am, gradually bending the existing landscape to my will, could Alfred Austin be able to figure out what’s me, what’s my husband, and what was left over from the past owners?

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  19. Great question Nancy. I would have to say that my garden does reflect me. It’s casual and relaxed. I like simple plants, especially passalong plants from family and friends. Those common and usually old-timey plants mean the most to me. It starts out organized but ends up in a total mess. I love flowers – lots of them, and find a plant hardly worth planting unless it flowers. I favor the odd – color combinations, garden art and people! Thanks to your question, I now know what my garden says about me. :-)

  20. I’m a bit behind on my post reading, with Spring having finally swung into high gear. I love all the responses your thought-provoking question has generated. I’ve never thought about it per se, but definitely my garden is a reflection of me. It’s wild, slightly chaotic and unconstrained. It lacks formality but has some structure. It is also filled with harmonious colors and native plants that can take whatever life throws at them.

  21. Hi Nancy,

    My garden is as I am – pretty low-maintenance, down-to-earth, no muss, no fuss, mostly informal, relatively natural, and seems to always be in a state of transition.

    Cathy

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

