Can Anyone ID This Cactus?

My hubby brought this little cactus home from the supermarket this morning — it must have looked lonely or something because I’ve never had a cactus before, other than Christmas cactus.

It has a few tiny white blooms on it, as you may be able to see from the photos, but there was no other information included. I’m sure it’s quite ordinary…can anyone who is better acquainted with cacti than I am identify it? Or is it simply the Common Supermarket Cactus? :)

Thanks in advance if you can help.


Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

8 thoughts on “Can Anyone ID This Cactus?”

  1. Thanks for your visit. I’m sorry I can’t help you with identifying your cactus – I don’t know much about them myself.

  2. Hah! Here’s a cactus I actually know the name of. It’s Mammillaria elongata, the gold star cactus. (That is, if the taxonomists haven’t changed the name.) It’s a dandy; the little flowers aren’t real showy, but they’re charming and the cactus is as tough as…a cactus! ;-)

  3. Hi Nancy.
    I don’t know much at all about cacti, I think it’s very attractive tho. I had my first succulent container last year and really liked it. Maybe this one could be the start of something?!!

  4. Nancy,
    I’s almost as happy as you to find the answer. I went through pages of googled catci hoping to find yours.

  5. Thank you, everyone, for stopping by.

    Jodi, thanks so much for identifying this little guy for me — once I knew the name, I could look up its soil and water needs, etc. :)

  6. It sure is a nice friendly little cactus with the spines nicely tucked away rather than sticking out ready to poke you. My kind of cactus.

  7. It’s great that Jodi knew its name but what it is is adorable! But then I’m a sucker for all things succulent…

  8. Jodi is right, it’s a Mammillaria elongata, or Golden Stars. I have the coppery spined version called Copper King.
    This is one of 11 easy-to-grow Mammillaria species that are commonly sold in garden centers.
    Aiyana

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

