Spring Tugs

Behind the house, the river trills
O’er rocks and stones it tumbles, spills.
Little freshets join its song,
Freed from winters far too long.

Golden leaf escapes its bud,
Footpaths, roadways turn to mud.
Clotheslines sag beneath the tugs
Of heavy quilts and braided rugs.

Naked maples, soon on tap,
Dented pails collecting sap
Scarves and mitts will disappear,
As long-awaited warmth draws near.

Crocuses and hyacinths
Will poke their heads up, inch by inch,
Purple harbingers of spring,
That stand for all this season brings.

Poem © 2008 Nancy Bond
[photo source]

19 thoughts on “Spring Tugs

  1. Did you write this?? It is fantastic and the picture is the perfect, perfect accompaniment to it. I’m so impressed, Nancy. You have captured spring on this first day!

  2. I really enjoy it when you post your original poetry, Nancy. That really gave me the feeling for Spring’s arrival.

  3. What a lovely poem. You have a wonderful way with words. Well done! It sums up spring beautifully. Happy first day of spring!
    Our weather is most unspringy!! (I don’t think that’s proper grammar, but never mind) :)

  4. Beautiful words, Nancy, even while we get our hearts right twisted by the ridiculous weather…it can’t last, we reassure each other…can it?

  5. oh Nancy, this photo is perfect. I am, always have been, a clothesline gal — got that from my dear Mom. I have been anxiously waiting for enough snow to melt so I can make it out to my clothesline. TODAY I was able to get out there — still snow but at least it’s manageable to get through it. In fact, I should head out and bring in the sheets and towels off the line. Tomorrow I hope to keep the line busy all day!

    Happy Easter
    Diane

  6. Thoughtful poem. Do you collect the sap and make maple syrup? The naturalist at our local nature center leads classrooms of children in various outdoor ventures… one of which is that of making maple syrup! Very fun. :-)

  7. Nan, this was a wonderful poem. As for the photo, it tugged on my heart strings.

    When I visit my uncle in Nova Scotia I always love to hang the clothes on the line. It looks just like the one in your photo and it sails on and on forever.

    Where we live people never have clothes lines (although there’s no restrictions). We used the previous owners old dog line for clothing but the tree it was attached to had to come down. Isn’t it something how a simple thing can mean so much?

  8. Wonderful poem…it really does evoke the feelings of Spring. And the photo made me feel nostalgic for the farm where I grew up.
    Thanks for sharing!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

