Wildflowers in Winter – Final Week

The final challenge for Wildflowers in Winter is to try to find wildflowers in bloom in your respective area. Well, with a 3-4″ snowfall overnight, and torrential rain all weekend, my search was a bust. And the next few days are unlikely to produce anything worthy.

So, I thought I’d just post this summery photo to close, and send a big bouquet to Elizabeth Joy for thinking of this challenge in the first place. It was a wonderful way to pass those cold, grey weeks.

Flowers in Winter
by John Greenleaf Whittier

How strange to greet, this frosty morn,
In graceful counterfeit of flower,
These children of the meadows, born
Of sunshine and of showers!

How well the conscious wood retains
The pictures of its flower-sown home,
The lights and shades, the purple stains,
And golden hues of bloom!

It was a happy thought to bring
To the dark season’s frost and rime
This painted memory of spring,
This dream of summertime…

7 thoughts on “Wildflowers in Winter – Final Week

  1. Sandy, this poem has many verses — these are just the first three. I thought they suited our weeks of winter wildflowers nicely. :)

    Elizabeth, I wish I’d been able to find a mayflower, or even some pussy willows, but they’ll come soon enough, I guess. I really enjoyed our weekly challenges. :)

  2. A lovely poem by one of my favorite poets, thanks for posting it. Soon you will have spring and not just have to read and dream about it, as we all will. A happy thought.

    Frances at Faire Garden

  3. Aha! Two of my favourite things, coneflowers and bees. A lovely way to wrap things up, Nancy. I stopped a couple of weeks ago when I got too busy with GBGP and also ran out of inspiration. No wildflowers up here either, and I haven’t checked on the pussy willows. I wonder if robins and red winged blackbirds would do as “flying flowers’?

  4. What a great idea…I enjoyed the Winter Wildflowers project too.

    Thanks for the glimpse of the summer garden.

    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

  5. Thank you Nancy, What a lovely way to end the Wildflowers in Winter. I’ve been too busy scratching my head in wonderment about where I might find anything Growing, much less Blooming around here! ha. :-) I may copy your idea, so I don’t fizzle out at the very end of this fun series.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

