Before The Eye Can Focus

“First a howling blizzard woke us,
Then the rain came down to soak us,
And now before the eye can focus —
Crocus.”

– Lilja Rogers

* * *

There are definitely no crocuses in Nova Scotia just yet, or at least not in my neck of the woods! We’ve just experienced yet another snow/freezing rain/rain and wind storm. About the only good thing you can say about it is that it DID wash away all the new snow and ice.

I’ve just had a wonderful overnight visit from my daughter and grandson who were home from New Brunswick. My daughter had a meeting in Halifax yesterday, and I got to spend the day with grandson, Nolan. I hadn’t seen them since New Years, so it was a fun visit. They left for home last evening to avoid the weather today, and thank goodness they did, as much as I hated to see them leave.

So, that’s my little bit of spring. :)

5 thoughts on “Before The Eye Can Focus

  1. First, let me say, that is an AWESOME picture of you on the profile. *smile*
    And I’m sure you were delighted to see Mr. Nolan. My gosh, he’s growing up, isn’t he???
    I’m about ready for a Crocus right now, though I don’t want to start the whole mowing ordeal. But when they’re forecasting seven inches for tomorrow, I do miss the prettiness of the flowers.
    Grins*

  2. Hey Crystal! Great to “see” you! Glad you like the photo…at least it’s recent. :) And yes, Nolan is really growing up fast…too fast. He just turned 18 months. This has been the longest winter I can remember — I hope spring comes your way soon, too! Take care.

  3. Nancy, I LOVE that little poem! I’ve jotted it down for safekeeping. I wish we were seeing crocus here, too. But hang in there, it shouldn’t be too much longer for either of us!

  4. Who could resist a poet who rhymes “soak us” with crocus? What a fun poem Nancy, and what a sunny, bright flower.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

