Garden Blogger’s Muse Day – March 2008

I feel about March much the way that Jodi of BloomingWriter does — she calls it Farch, as here on the Fundy shores, it often seems that February and March meld together to form one long, grey month. March is coming in like a lion here in Nova Scotia — we’re expecting snow and blowing snow…changing to rain this evening…then back to snow again tomorrow. Only a few inches are forecast, but it sure adds to the Farch-like feel of this time of year. Hopefully, it will go out like a lamb, as the saying goes.

The only thing I have in bloom right now is the miniature rose I received for Valentine’s Day. The cat, believe it or not, had a good munch on a few of the blooms (yes, it’s thorny!), but it continues to thrive and even has some new growth. Hopefully, it will survive long enough to transplant it later. When it warms up. When Farch is over.

The poem below seemed perfect for the day. The first day of March. The Garden Blogger’s Muse Day.

“Ah, March! we know thou art
Kind-hearted, spite of ugly looks and threats,
And, out of sight, art nursing April’s violets!”
– Helen Hunt Jackson
Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Muse Day – March 2008”

  1. It’s snowing here in Ontario too. But spring really IS close. Daylight is much longer than it was even a month ago, and soon Canada gees will be seaching for the best ponds to rear their young.

    I think March is a month of hope and promise. The whole growing season lies just a tiny bit ahead of us!

  2. Lovely post and lovely rose too, Nancy. Right now the weather is really bothering me, as I sit waiting for the next onslaught of stuff from the sky. The sun is peeking through some clouds but the wind is just screaming…and I decided not to go to Halifax today because of the forecast. So yup, I’m tired of winter and longing for better weather…it’s only what, two months away? :-)

  3. What a sweet poem, Nancy – combining the realistic vision that all the action is taking place below ground with hope that one day it will be Spring where you live.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  4. This post is a rare treat for the spirit on a day when skies are gray, the snow is falling thick and fast, and springtime seems very far away indeed. Oh for roses blooming in my garden, just the colour of your red miniature beauty – you captured it so perfectly for us!

  5. Let’s hope we get some kind-hearted March days :)
    I like the poem and your pretty pictures. It’s nice of the kitty not to eat the whole rose! It’s a pretty color.
    Thanks for visiting and your nice comment. Glad to meet you :)
    Your weather sounds just like ours today except for the rain.

  6. It feels like spring everytime I come here. Of course if I look out the window at the enormous amount of snow it tells me that spring is far far off.

    I love the sound of peepers. Its something I really miss now I live in town.

  7. Neat poem – March can be pretty ugly when all the snow melts leaving soggy brown lawn. This year, that would be a welcome treat. (I can’t remember the last time I saw the grass.)

  8. My son thinks your post about leapy year is just hoppy! We’d love to put in a pond sometime. Right now the neighbor’s creek works great as a home for pacific tree frogs.

    I’d love to come visit your part of the world sometime, but I’ll leave the winter for you.

  9. I somehow skipped over this post. Sorry for the late comment Nancy. What a delightful photo of your rose. It makes a person want to touch it … the suede like texture is so inviting … just like the wonder of spring (although it’s still a way off)
    :-)

    Diane

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

