Weekend Snapshot #12

I looked for any sign of spring this weekend and found these. I’m not absolutely sure what they are as they were growing in a large pot on my aunt’s patio…something she had probably started last summer, or a gift from the neighbors. I thought it might be a lilac, but it was really too small for me to say. There is a hint of green there, though it’s hard to see.

Yesterday the twig was brown and bare;
To-day the glint of green is there;
Tomorrow will be leaflets spare;
I know no thing so wondrous fair,
No miracle so strangely rare.
I wonder what will next be there!
– L.H. Bailey
Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

12 thoughts on “Weekend Snapshot #12”

  1. Thanks for this inspirational post! As we get out from under our 6″-thick new winter blanket, I’m beginning to wonder about spring!

  2. Oh I love the poem, that twig does look like it could be a lilac. I have no sign of spring around here yet. It was snowing this morning

  3. I like that shot. I too have been out looking for spring. We’re almost too far along because I know everything can get zapped. I hope you have a good week.

  4. What a beautiful saying at the end. I would love to have that framed and in my garden shed. It is very hopeful. Thank you..you had a very heartfelt post today. We are all longing for Spring.

  5. I was out looking for bud this morning, too. Found them on the blueberry and raspberry vines, among other things.

    We are all getting anxious, arent we?
    Sandy

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

