The Gifts of the Garden

A garden–whether it be a quarter acre plot or a small flowerbox– evokes many emotions in those who tend it. Obviously, a garden gives joy and happiness, not only to its nurturer, but to any who may pass by and sigh at the beauty and perfume of a newly opened bloom.

Sometimes, there is frustration and disappointment when a plant simply refuses to flourish where you’ve planted it. Occasionally, there’s even a bit of hostility (just ask Jodi at BloomingWriter how she feels about goutweed) toward some parts of our gardens. But overall, most who garden would say that it is the satisfaction, the sense of accomplishment, the miracle of growth, that keeps their hands in the soil.

“Connection with gardens, even small ones, even potted plants, can become windows to the inner life. The simple act of stopping and looking at the beauty around us can be prayer.” – Patricia R. Barrett, The Sacred Garden

A garden’s value is not only in what it produces. A garden teaches many things. It gifts us with an inner peace and solitude as we work, and forces us to pause. It teaches diligence, determination, patience and gratitude. It even teaches faith. Yes, faith. Imagine the anxiety of a farmer, planting acres of crop, without faith that his investment will bear fruit. Or how stressful the purchase of that four-foot Blue Spruce you’ve longed for, without faith that it will set out roots and thrive.

A garden can recharge our senses with its riot of color and shape…with the twitter of birds and buzz of bees…with the fragrance of blooms and rain-washed foliage…with the warm earth that sifts through your fingers and with the cool shade of a tree…with the crunch of a new carrot or the fuzzy sweetness of the first peach. Gardening has been a joy for me over the years, and has often been an almost spirtual experience.

We all have our own definition of “God”. But whatever that may be, I find this quote to be wholly appropriate:

“I think that if ever a mortal heard the voice of God it would be in a garden at the cool of the day.” – F. Frankfort Moore, A Garden of Peace

12 thoughts on “The Gifts of the Garden

  1. I love your posting about this aspect of gardening. It certainly has the ability to calm a troubled soul. Thanks.

    Frances at Faire Garden

  2. Hi nancy
    I have heard that gazing on the beauty of a garden or individual plant is a form of meditation .. we can all use some of that peace in our lives !
    Good post !
    Joy

  3. They are gifts indeed. Sent you an email. Not sure if it went through, as Outlook didn’t list it. Funny, I just conversed via internet with Dee over at Dirt Ramblings yesterday, as we’re both from the same neck of the woods! I see she’s here too. Hope to see more of you “in the blog trenches!”

  4. Great post, Nancy! One of my favourite quotes about planting is from a song by the late, great Stan Rogers, Nancy:

    “Watch the field behind the plow
    Turn to straight, dark rows
    Put another season’s promise in the ground”

    Another season’s promise is how I see plants of all sorts, be they to eat or merely to enjoy. They give us hope, don’t they?

    except goutweed, of course…;-)

  5. I don’t think I could live without my garden! It brings me so much joy that I’m just lost without it. Thank you for such a wonderful message today. My gardens do evoke a lot of emotion in me.

  6. Nancy, Very thoughtful post. Thank you. I would agree that faith is found within the art of gardening. And gardening does much to “soothe the soul.” I also look for reasons to draw the things I enjoy. Thank you for your visit and comments on my most recent post.

  7. Nancy, this was outstanding. I agree on all counts. From the quote you used, I was especially drawn to, “The simple act of stopping and looking at the beauty around us can be prayer.” … amen.

    Diane
    Alberta Postcards
    Now at WordPress!, same blog, new addy

  8. Thank you all for taking the time to leave such lovely words for this post. I think gardening intrinsically makes us all more aware of the world around us…and more grateful for it. I’m glad you shared your thoughts as well.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

