Where in the World is Nancy?

Jodi at Blooming Writer came up with a great idea for a garden blogger geography project, and I’ve not only enjoyed putting together information about my town, but I also learned a few interesting tidbits along the way.

So I’m throwing a challenge out to all other garden bloggers to embark on something I’m calling Garden Bloggers Geography Project. All you have to do is write a post (or two or three, if you want—remember, my theory is rules are made to be broken). Tell your readers a bit about your hometown, your state, province…something that really tells us where you are in the world. What’s really special about your community? Pretend you’re trying to entice visitors to the region, and remember—what might be obvious to you isn’t necessarily obvious to even the blogger in the community next door. Use maps, photos, whatever you want, so long as it’s not too hard for people to load.”

I hope you’ll enjoy taking a virtual stroll through Windsor, Nova Scotia and exploring some of the links. Below is a map for your reference — click to enlarge, for more detail.


* * *

This Is Where I Live

The settlement known today as the Town of Windsor, Nova Scotia, was originally called Pesaquid, a Mi’kmaq Indian term for “where the waters meet”. The name referred to the point at which the Avon and St. Croix Rivers join and flow into the Bay of Fundy. The French settled here as early as 1685 – the wooden blockhouse at Fort Edward was built in 1750 and played a large part in the expulsion of the Acadians. It is the last original blockhouse still standing in Canada. Windsor was incorporated as a town in 1878.

Haliburton House Museum

Windsor has several claims to fame and is affectionately known as The Little Town of Big Firsts. It is believed that Long Pond, Windsor, was where the first game of ice hockey was played. Long Pond is located on the property of Howard Dill, just off the grounds of the Kings-Edgehill School, the oldest private school in Canada. Coincidentally, Howard Dill’s farm is also the Home of the Atlantic Giant Pumpkin where the first record-making, gigantic gourds were grown, to which all subsequent giant pumpkins are genetically linked. Every fall, after harvest, Windsor celebrates the giants by hosting an annual Pumpkin Regatta on Lake Pesaquid.

A giant in progress…

Windsor is also home to one of North America’s most quoted authors, Judge Thomas Chandler Haliburton who created the character Sam Slick. Haliburton coined dozens of phrases that are now used in everyday speak, such as: it’s raining cats and dogs; the early bird gets the worm; to get blood from a stone; to drink like a fish; quick as a wink; and facts are stranger than fiction, to name but a few.

Windsor is a quaint little town (pop. 3700) with tree-lined streets and many gracious homes. There are churches of every faith, motels and inns and a community hospital, complete with helipad. The shopping district, both up- and downtown, bustles with a variety of shops (including three florists) and services, including a visitor information centre. In the centre of town, Victoria Park has an elegant Victorian bandstand. There are three walking trails around the town.

June blooms

Windsor is the site of the Hants County Exhibition, North America’s oldest agricultural fair. Situated at the gateway to the lush Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia’s richest agricultural belt, Windsor also participates in the annual Apple Blossom Festival which draws a hundred thousand visitors to the area each spring. The Festival is a weekend-long celebration of the apple blossom. Miles and miles of orchards in bloom are a sight to see.

The town of Windsor lies on huge deposits of gypsum and limestone. The two rivers have deposited alluvial clay in the area. But these somewhat harsh conditions affect agriculture more than recreational gardening and I have seen many colorful and carefully tended gardens around town.

A sampling of my posie pots

For me, I live in an apartment and my gardening is presently confined to containers on a small balcony. I’ve managed to add a little spot of color to our view, however, and I have to be content with that until we are able to secure a house, hopefully, this summer. The grounds of the apartment building were, at one time, nicely landscaped with mature trees, some flowering shrubs and a couple of raised beds which have gone to the weeds. I do ponder trying to do some pruning and planting, but I’m not sure my efforts would be appreciated by management.

So, that’s a quick look at Windsor, Nova Scotia. It is where I live. But it is not my home.

This Is Home

I lived in the tiny village of Walton (about 25 miles from Windsor) for most of my life, coming to Windsor only after divorce in the late 90’s. This is where I grew up, gardened, dreamed, raised my children, and where my parents still live.

Walton, Nova Scotia

I have an affinity with the sea. The eternal rhythms of the tide, the salt air and gull cries play a song in my heart that will always pull me back to the shore. No matter where I’m forced to live at any given time, the seaside village of Walton, Nova Scotia will always be home.

Aerial photo by Airscapes © R. Garnett
Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

17 thoughts on “Where in the World is Nancy?”

  1. You added the icing on the cake jodi already baked. It was nice to see some more of Nova Scotia. I’ve always been fasinated by the tides in the Bay of Fundy.

    The aerial photo is cool and the Walton collage breathtaking. I can see why you want to move back to the shore. I hope you find that new home and get off the pot(s) Just keep one for the sunflower – it was my favorite of the flower photos

  2. Aweosme job, Nancy–i left a comment earlier but Blogger ate it, or put it somewhere…we both know what it is to be connected to the sea, and the moody Minas Basin and Channel/upper Bay of Fundy.

  3. hey there Nancy – hello from the other side of the Bay of Fundy. Great blog you have there. I was also interested to learn about Jodi’s activities, Blog 365 and Passionate Blogs. I haven’t added my Bay of Fundy blog yet to any blog groups but I’ll consider it. Regards, Terri
    (bayoffundy.blogspot.com)

  4. WiseAcre — thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you’ll visit Nova Scotia sometime…you’re not so very far away. That sunflower, by the way, grew from a stray seed from the bird feeder, and I didn’t have the heart to pull it out!

    Jodi — from the lighthouse, we look directly across to Cape Blomidon. In fact, the sun sets behind it. So I can almost wave to you on the other shore. :) I think the seawater gets in your veins. :)

  5. Hello Terri — thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll come back often! I’ve actually been to your blog before and intend to add it to my links…you have a wealth of information for anyone who knows–or wants to know–The Bay. :)

  6. Thanks so much for sharing your part of the world with us. That looks like a lovely place to love. Kudos to you for gardening even though you live in an apartment.

  7. Nancy, this was so enjoyable. Even though I’ve never lived near the sea, all my life it draws me with its rhythms and whispers with the strength and flow of the tides. What a beautiful and heartfelt picture you drew for us with words. Btw, I didn’t know about the origins of those sayings — Canadian, eh? :)

    Diane
    Alberta Postcards
    Diane’s Flickr photos

  8. Nancy
    You have made me homesick for the sea. Wonderful explanation and description of where you are.
    We lived in Debert N.S. for 5 years when my husband was posted there. But in fact we are Capers by birth and lived all over Canada as kids .. the seas stays embedded in our blood though ..
    Joy : )

  9. Robin — thank you so much for your visit. Yes, I dislike that my gardening is confined to such small spaces, but you do what you have to. :)

    Diane — thank you for your kind words…I’ve learned from reading your blog that you love the sea as well.

    Joy — I’m so glad you stopped by! A transplanted Caper! :) I love Cape Breton and have been there many times…it always feels like coming home, and I’m sure that has as much to do with the people as the water. :) (Joy is my middle name.)

  10. I’ve been to Windsor – many years ago now when we lived in the New York City/Connecticut area. All around the edges, definitely visited the Bay of Fundy. We visited the year the major airline crash occurred. Two of my vacationing friends were on that flight…..

  11. What an interesting read. I liked all the tid bits of info and learning your angle on life and places you’ve been. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’ve added you so I can come back from time to time. I find your words comforting.

  12. I could feel the longing in your written words. Do you think you will be able to move back there? If you work in Windsor, would 25 miles be too long a commute?

  13. Hello Nancy ~ I haven’t lived in Nova Scotia (yet) but we were all set to move there when I was a teen before something went a miss with the job my father had been offered. Nevertheless, this post leaves me pining as if a part of me misses Nova Scotia like an old home. My father was born in New Brunswick. I guess the Maritimes is in my blood.

  14. Hello Nancy,

    I’d seen Jodi’s entry and am so glad you also wrote about Nova Scotia. I’ve only visited the sea, never lived there, but have a glimmer of understanding why you can’t bear to be too far away.

    Your mention of Windsor and the expulsion reminded me that our class read “Evangeline” in 10th grade…I have only vague memories but think I kept a sketch of her somewhere in with old school papers.

    May this year bring you a house and some land for gardening!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  15. Nancy, both you and Jodi have shown me the beauty of Nova Scotia and taught me a little about it. The winters may be rough, but it sounds like a lovely place to live. I understand the seaside running in your veins. I grew up by the ocean too and long to be back there sometimes. I do love our NY countryside though.

  16. Hello Nancy. I’m making the rounds of the Garden Bloggers Geography Project posts. I’ve never been to Nova Scotia but am familiar with St. Pierre & Miquelon. Very much enjoyed learning about Nova Scotia from your and Jodi’s posts. I’m in the Pacific Northwest of the US so water and mountains are constant companions.

  17. Very informative post – thanks! My father-in-law’s family is from North Sydney, which looks beautiful from photos I’ve seen. After reading your & Jodi’s posts I really want to take the kids to visit NS. I hope you get your house & a well-sheltered garden soon.
    I’m intrigued by the “Pumpkin Regatta.” Are the pumpkins hollowed out 1st or tossed in whole? Are there any prizes awarded? It sounds like a fun event.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

