Wildflowers In Winter – Week 5

This week’s Wildflowers in Winter theme is “Stitching Up Wildflowers” — creations made with textiles (fabric, yarn, thread etc.) and featuring wildflowers in some form, made by you or someone else.

I was very fortunate during the years of my marriage to have a MIL who did extraordinary embroidery and lace work, so I thought I would showcase some of her work that I acquired over the years. Some of these pieces have been packed away for a long time, so you’ll have to excuse the wrinkles. (All items are either 100% cotton or linen.) I’m not certain that all the flowers are wildflowers, but some are and the others, I take poetic license with. :)

(Click to enlarge for a more detailed look.)

A linen stand cloth.

Two corners of a small, linen “bridge” tablecloth.

I purchased both sets of these pillowcases in the mid-70’s at a church sale. They were both made by my MIL…I have never used either set and have tucked them away in a trunk for my two daughters.

A linen dresser scarf/runner.

Lastly, I know this isn’t a wild rose, but I’ll pretend some wild spring breeze brought it to my garden. :) This is an 5×7 needlepoint, done by my aunt.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

10 thoughts on “Wildflowers In Winter – Week 5”

  1. Your mother-in-law did wonderful work! What a precious collection of flowers, and even ones to pass on to your daughters.

    I do like the new look of your blog. Very nice.

  2. These are lovely–and again, I really LOVE the new look of Soliloquy! I’m way behind in my posts right now but the Gazette has gone out the door, so once the migraine slacks off a bit, I’ll get my posts done!

  3. Elizabeth — yes, she did. I have many beautiful tablecloths and such that she either embroidered or crocheted, afghans, and several quilts. She was a real crafty lady and a beautiful person.

    Jodi — thanks for your input on the new look! I was starting to doubt the RED, but I think it grows on you. LOL. It’s “more me” than the old template, I think. A change is nice.

  4. I think this wildflower thing is taking me over..
    I’m even talking about Spring hikes into the mountains to look for wildflowers. Yikes…
    Your goodies are lovely.
    It’s great to have items from people that you love…

  5. Beautiful needlework! Exquisite and just perfect for wildflowers in winter! Thank you for sharing them with us!

    LaTeaDah

  6. I just love these linens. You must be so pleased to have them. All my old family ones got eaten up or nested in by mice. :<(

  7. Oh, goodness, those are gorgeous. The bridge table cloth is wonderful. But I like them all! Fred’s grandmother did this kind of work. Treasures.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

