Wildflowers In Winter – Week 1

Elizabeth Joy is hosting some wildflower fun to brighten these grey winter days. Participants may post a “Wildflowers in Winter” entry according to the weekly theme list on her blog.

My entry for this week is a photo I took this fall of some wild asters. Though they are a very common late summer/early fall bloomer here in Nova Scotia, these ones were still in bloom on Thanksgiving Weekend, nestled at the edge of a meandering river.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

6 thoughts on “Wildflowers In Winter – Week 1”

  1. Imagine asters on Thanksgiving weekend, even Canadian Thanksgiving. They are beautiful. I am smiling here at the thought of their discovery by the meandering river. I’m so glad you have joined Wildflowers in Winter! And I’m glad to have found your blog. Your photography is wonderful.

    In Joy,
    Elizabeth Joy

  2. Thanks for posting about this, Nancy. I’ve got my post up (just under the wire, but Elizabeth Joy is further west than we are, whew!) I think it’ll be a great project.
    And your asters…well, it doesn’t seem that long ago that they were blooming, does it?

  3. The flowers are beautiful and just the thing on this arctic day!

    Hope you have a wonderful day! I’ll have to email you later.

  4. Nancy, The asters are so pretty and one of my favorites. I have some photos of some too, but not from as late as Thanksgiving. Wow! Our fields were under several inches of snow the week of Thanksgiving! lol! Glad you’re joining in the fun. :)

  5. Nancy, PS. It just dawned on me that your Thanksgiving is a little earlier than ours. I think I still had asters blooming during yours. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

