Points to Ponder #19

“All problems become smaller if you don’t dodge them, but confront them. Touch a thistle timidly, and it pricks you; grasp it boldly and its spines crumble.” – Wm. S. Halsey, WWII U.S. Admiral


For years, I’ve told others (and tried to convince myself) that the only way to confront a problem is to just walk through it. With a big stick. Beat it into submission. Obviously, this is easier said than done.

I used to be a Chronic Cringer — every time I was faced with some unpleasantness, I cringed and shied away from it. I could deal with it another day. That made me Queen of Procrastination, something I still work on, but I’m getting much better about it.

In the past ten years I’ve walked through some pretty big fires. Infernos, in fact. It forced me, in many instances, to grab a problem by the throat and choke the life out of it. It leaves you with a strength and builds confidence you might not otherwise have. If I can deal with this, I can deal with anything.

Are you skirting around issues in your life right now? Are you side-stepping the inevitable? Can you find a way to grasp some thistle boldly, watch it crumble, and be done with it?

3 thoughts on “Points to Ponder #19

  1. I’ve always been the opposite, Nancy. I like to plunge right in and get things sorted out or they just drive me nuts. Confront and conquer! Works for me.

  2. Side step, that was me. Let some one else deal with it. In fact, even now, reading the quote on the thistle, I involuntarily shuddered at the thought — and again when you said it at the end of your post. I’ve gotten better at confronting it, but I am still the Queen Mother of Procrastination.

  3. Gosh, couldn’t be better timing for this thought. I’m definitely a procrasinator. Lately I’ve been really sidestepping a very personal and painful issue. Perhaps it’s time to grit my teeth, reach out and grab that darn thistle and throttle it. Thanks for the sage advice at a time when I could sure use it.

    Diane, Sand to Glass

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

