Size Does Matter

So, it being a sub-zero but sunny day with just enough flurries in the air to make one feel somewhat Christmasy, we set out for A Day of Christmas Shopping, Part Deux. I tucked my carefully compiled list in my pocket and off we went. After running a few errands in town, my s/o, in his wisdom, decided that we should check out the new “super” Wal-Mart in Sackville, rather than drive to our usual destination in New Minas. Terrific. Brand new store…in a bustling new industrial park. Fresh meat.

So, we arrive at said Wal-Mart, only to find that the parking lot is full to overflowing and that cars have actually parked along the side of the main road. Well, hey, you expect a new-and-improved Wal-Mart to be crazy busy a month before Christmas. We circled the parking lot until someone relinquished their spot and then walked the 1/4 mile back to the store entrance.

We were greeted at the door by an appropriately jolly greeter who pushed a cart toward us and sent us on our way. Wow. The place was ginormous! I’m talking BIG. You could have fit two of the New Minas stores neatly inside this steely beast.

Of course, the entire layout of the store was completely different than the one we usually frequent. And though the space was at least doubled, it didn’t seem to be as well stocked.

Where the hell are the Christmas cards? ::grumble:: Four rows over, six columns down.

“And that stuffed turkey breast you advertised in your flyer?”

“Didn’t get them. Wanna rain check?”

“When do you expect to have them?”

“January 3rd.”

Are you kidding me?

And so it went. I was optimistic about finishing our shopping today, but we finally gave up and headed for home. Which illustrates the old adage about big not necessarily being better. I detest those “super-sized” stores.

Rant over. :)

3 thoughts on “Size Does Matter

  1. Someday I’m REALLy going to buy all my Christmas present in August to avoid those kind of messes. I hate shopping but I always procrastinate until the last minute anyway.

  2. Yes, those super size stores really can be a challenge to deal with can’t they? I obviously had a much better day … stayed home and made apple crisp. You can read about it (and grab the recipe) if you like!

    It’s snowing here today and the weather is plumetting. I should make more.

    Diane at Sand to Glass

  3. Travis — I say the same thing every year. I have such good intentions, big plans to have shopping done and all the nastiness taken care of before the first of December, but it rarely happens. Just like that Christmas account you’re going to open every January 1st. :) I’m all for foregoing the gifts completely, and investing that money in good wine and great conversation. Thanks for your visit!

    Diane — I read your Apple Crisp post and what can I say? Yum! Time well spent!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

