Thursday Thirteen #40

As we anxiously await the morning when the Canada geese, that feed in the fields that surround our home, start their raucous journey to warmer climes, I thought I’d share a few interesting tidbits about this magnificent bird. :)

THIRTEEN FACTS ABOUT
THE CANADA GOOSE

1. The life expectancy of a Canada goose [Branta canadensis] is about 20 years.

2. A Canada goose weighs 20 – 25 lbs and has a wingspread of up to 64″.

3. Migratory geese nest in Canada and their migratory flight range is 2-3000 miles.

4. Canada geese have been known to fly 1000 kms in a day.

5. Canada geese mate for life; they will find a new mate if their mate dies or is killed. Their mating season is February to March.

6. The instinct to return to their general area or birth is very strong. Migratory geese fly 2-3000 miles to return to these sites.

7. When egg laying begins the “Father” goose will stand sentinel watch nearby, but not so close as to give away location of nest to a predator. When a solitary goose is seen during nesting season a nest is somewhere in the vicinity.

8. The eggs in a nest are called a “clutch”.

9. Mother goose waits until all eggs are laid before she begins to sit on nest to incubate eggs. Incubation time is 28 – 30 days.

10. Baby geese are called “goslings”.

11. Goslings can fly approximately 2 – 3 months after hatching.

12. Natural predators of geese are foxes, raccoons, owls and snapping turtles.

13. Scientists have determined that the V-shaped formation that geese use when migrating serves two important purposes:

(a) first, it conserves their energy. Each bird flies slightly above the bird in front of him, resulting in a reduction of wind resistance. The birds take turns being in the front, falling back when they get tired. In this way, the geese can fly for a long time before they must stop for rest.

(b) the second benefit to the V formation is that it is easy to keep track of every bird in the group. Fighter pilots often use this formation for the same reason.

* * *


The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #40”

  1. I once went on a island tour and the one island we stopped at was covered in goose droppings. I had never seen them before and was shocked! I love to watch them fly in a V.

  2. Thanks for the great TT. Now when my Canadian cousins tease me about not knowing anything about Canada, I can proudly tell them about the Canadian goose. :-)

  3. Now that was very interesting and informative. I knew a few of those, but I learned something today. Thanks.

    Happy TT!

  4. I love geese and I loved finding that out about the V formation. I always assumed that it serves some purpose and it turns out that it does.

    Isn’t nature amazing?

  5. Good list and very interesting. I love the geese. I live near a lake and really enjoy them when they’re here.

    ~Harris.

  6. These TTs can be habit forming, obviously. What an intriguing post about our Canada goose–I love watching them and think their song is so haunting. I know they can be a pest to some, but in my world they’re welcome.

  7. Not to mention, that while most mother’s are protective of their babies, Canada Geese parents will rip your face off if you get to close to one of their goslings!

    Thanks for visiting my TT, and I’m going to give Delsym a try. There are times when I’d rather cough than take cough syrup! :P

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

