Thanks Were Given

Our Thanksgiving weekend was so enjoyable. My younger daughter, her significant other, and grandson Nolan arrived at my parents just after lunch on Sunday. We were joined later on by my older daughter and her boyfriend. After much ooo-ing and ahh-ing over my grandson, we sat down to a lovely meal, thankful for the beauty of the day (see photo left), the bounty of the table, and the love and company of family and friends. It’s as nice a Thanksgiving as we’ve ever spent, I think. :)

We stopped along the drive to my parents to take a few pictures. It was close to 1:00pm, so the light wasn’t exactly ideal for photos, but there were some pretty sights along the way. We haven’t had a really heavy, “killing” frost here in Nova Scotia yet, so the leaves don’t seem to be their usual fluorescent colors, but they were pretty just the same.

It’s surprising the amount of flowers that are still in bloom along the roadsides — the Queen Anne’s Lace can be found in abundance and the ditches are blue with chicory and wild asters.

Much of the drive to my parents is on a secondary road, aptly named The Walton Woods Road. For fifteen miles, there are no houses, no buildings at all, save for the occasional hunting cabin. Both sides of the road are bordered with hardwood and conifers and, though not at their prettiest just yet, it made for a lovely drive.

Of course, the star of the day was little Nolan. He’s growing so fast and getting so smart. :) He’s a pleasant little boy with a ready smile and sweet personality, and he’s so close to taking his first unaided steps.

So, all in all, it was a lovely holiday and we so enjoyed having my daughters and family with us, though as always, our visits are too short. But I am grateful that we were all able to be together for another year. I hope all my fellow Canucks had a great holiday, too.

2 thoughts on “Thanks Were Given

  1. Your blessings overflow! And the photo is great. I went down to see Mother today and watch my sister’s granddaughter, Emma, who is 18 months old. I had her and mother dancing, of a sorts, it was hilarious, and after three hours I was worn to a frazzle. You’ll be running after Nolan in no time! What a gift, Nancy….

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

