Thursday Thirteen #35



THIRTEEN TRIVIAL THINGS
ABOUT THE NUMBER 13

1. Thirteen is a prime number, only divisible by itself and 1.

2. Triskaidekaphobia is the fear of the number 13.

3. Thirteen may be considered a “bad” number simply because when a group of 13 objects or people is divided into two, three, four or six equal groups, there is always one leftover, or “unlucky”, object or person.

4. Italians omit the number 13 from their national lottery.

5. Many airports skip the 13th gate. Airplanes have no 13th row.

6. More than 80 percent of high-rises lack a 13th floor.

7. At the Universal Studios sound stages in California, there is no sound stage numbered 13.

8. The number of steps, according to Egyptian lore, between life and death is 13.

9. A rondeau is a poem with 13 lines; the opening phrase is repeated as the refrain of the second and third stanzas.

10. 13 is a baker’s, devil’s or long dozen.

11. The arrest and murder of the Knights Templar occurred on Friday October 13, 1307. This event is sometimes said to be the origin of the supposed unluckiness of Friday the 13th.

12. The number of cards in a single suit of a standard deck of playing cards.

13. It is considered unlucky to have thirteen at a table or in a company. The number 13, in the Christian faith, is the number of people at the Last Supper, with the 13th guest at the table being the traitor, Judas.



* * *


The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

34 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #35

  1. i was unaware of high-rises not having a 13th floor. how silly, then 14 is 13 adn there are 79 floors and not 80.

    it is rumored that eve offered adam the apple on friday the 13th

  2. Pretty interesting facts. About 13 being unlucky number..my son was born on Friday the 13th..he is Autistic. I guess you have to wonder, eh? Thank you stopping by! *smiles*

  3. This is a great list! I didn’t know a lot of the stuff on it like #4 & 5. Thanks for the fun and for stopping by my list.

  4. 13 is my husband’s lucky number. He was born on a 13th! I’d better not develop a phobia, I could never remember that word!!
    happy TT!

  5. Fascinating! And how appropriate! I had no idea about 13 and the Italian lottery. Funny, I always feel like 13 is lucky, so I choose it on my lottery ticket. But I always have been one for the underdog.

    Happy TT! :-)

  6. I think it’s strange that in this day and age there is enough superstition floating around to cause buildings to re-name their 13th floor, and for airlines to not have a Row 13!

  7. Great list! Actually there is a row 13 – on some airlines anyway. One of our trips, row 13 was the only available spot for all 5 of us to sit together. I wonder why- LOL!

  8. What a fun list – I knew that buildings didn’t have a 13th floor but I didn’t know that about the Italian lottery or about airports.

  9. love the look of your webpage…very nice!
    I enjoyed reading your TT! Very interesting….we keep doing this 13 thing every week, but no one (until you!) has really looked at the trivia behind the number 13. Very interesting! Thanks for sharing; I learned something!

    I know I’m late, but I’m just returning a visit to my site.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

