Thursday Thirteen #34



THIRTEEN BITS OF
WORD TRIVIA

1. The only city whose name can be spelled completely with vowels is Aiea, Hawaii.

2. The slash character is called a virgule, or solidus. A URL uses slash characters, not back slash characters.

3. The only 15 letter word that can be spelled without repeating a letter is uncopyrightable.

4. Switching letters is called spoonerism. For example, saying ‘jag of Flapan’, instead of ‘flag of Japan’.

5. The highest scoring word in the English language game of Scrabble is ‘Quartzy‘. This will score 164 points if played across a red triple-word square with the Z on a light blue double-letter square.

6. The only word that consists of two letters, each used three times is the word deeded.

7. The word girl appears only once in the Bible.

8. The longest place-name still in use is: Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateaturipukakapiki-
maungahoronukupokaiwhenuakitanatahu, a New Zealand hill.

9. ‘Strengths‘ is the longest word in the English language with just one vowel.

10. ‘Stewardesses‘ and ‘reverberated‘ are the two longest words (12 letters each) that can be typed using only the left hand.

11. There is a word in the English language with only one vowel, which occurs six times: Indivisibility.

12. The dot over the letter ‘i’ is called a tittle.

13. The longest word in the English language, according to the Oxford English Dictionary, is pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis. It is a a pneumoconiosis caused by the inhalation of very fine silicate or quartz dust.



* * *


The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

35 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #34”

  1. Those are all new to me. Great ones. The one about girl only being in the Bible once just astonishes me. I even went and did a query because it was just so unbelievable, but it’s true!

  2. My father is a pastor who also teaches Greek and Hebrew so I knew what a tittle was, but didn’t know it meant the same thing in English!!!

  3. Lots of fun facts in there. Great list.

    I speak fluent English and Hebrew (which Sniz says also has tittles) and I’d never heard the word until just now.

  4. What an interesting and informative list! I love TT’s that teach you something. By the way, I love spoonerisms…I think they’re hilarious! The Reverend Spooner came out with some funny ones…like when he toasted “the queer old dean” when he meant to say “the dear old queen.” :)

  5. very interesting!!!! I had to check the Bible one, LOL!!! Apparently that is in the KJ version…NIV has girl all over the place…I found that truly interesting!

    Becki
    VoteForBecki.com

  6. Great TT. I didn’t know those things. I think number 3 is really cool. I don’t play scrabble much, but will have to remember that one.
    Thanks for visiting my TT.

  7. I can type a lot of words with only my left hand. Obviously the people who came up with that trivia bit never had to keep the keyboard away from 2 cats and a Pug while typing. :P

    Thanks for stopping by my TT!

  8. Amazing list… I’ve been known to type all sorts of words with only two fingers… but that’s not what you meant. :)

    Thanks for the knowledge. I may actually win scrabble some day.

  9. Oh, this is marvelous! Words are so delightfully whimsical and vibrant, aren’t they? Your spellchecker must have just about turned itself inside-out on that lonnnnng word.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

