Take Eighty-Three…

They say the third time’s the charm, but in this case, it’s more like the eighty-third. Slight exaggeration, perhaps. Very slight. BUTT…tonight I decided to give it another go. I’m ‘patched’ and have sixteen gallons of ice water at my fingertips. I know I can do this, though I’ve said it before. But this time just feels different. Dunno–wish me luck. I’ll post my progress.

My daughter called tonight to tell me that my grandson and his Daddy were almost in a head-on collision today. Two cars ran a yellow light and collided in the middle of an intersection. My daughter’s [brand new] car was close enough to the impact to be damaged by the debris from the other cars. She is understandably upset about the car, but the damage is nothing more than some dents and scratches. My grandson and (almost-)SIL are unharmed, and that’s ALL that matters. It quickly puts things into perspective when you realize that a few seconds earlier…a few seconds later…a heartbeat of inattention…and we could all be standing over that sweet baby in a hospital bed tonight.

Sometimes it takes a jolt like that to remind us that there is much we could be doing to be taking better care of ourselves–to perhaps extend our lives, to give me as much time as possible with that precious child. With my own sweet daughters. And I’ve smoked for a very long time–it’s time. No, it’s over-time. :)

Hug your children tonight. Call someone you love and tell them so. Drive more slowly. Write a letter. Slow down. Smell the roses.

3 thoughts on “Take Eighty-Three…

  1. The very best of luck with this, Nancy. I’ve never smoked nor understood the attraction–it smells bad, it’s expensive, and it’s deadly–but I have all the sympathy in the world for the struggle that stopping smoking can be. The main thing is to do it for yourself, not for anyone else. But those who love you–and those who haven’t even met you but who enjoy your writing–would like you to be around for a long time yet, so here’s hoping it works for you this time.

  2. You’ll do it! Ever new try makes you stronger. My tip, and most people laugh but it worked for me, is to suck on a couple strong mints, like white tic-tacs and then put your head in the freezer and take deep lungfuls of cold minty air. It really helps when the cravings are at the worst. It’s the “feeling” of something going into your lungs but it’s just air so it helps in the long run. Honest! give it a try.

    Good Luck!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

