Thursday Thirteen #33


THIRTEEN QUOTES OF AUTUMN IMAGERY

1. “Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.” – Albert Camus

2. “Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile.” – William Cullen Bryant

3. “Autumn burned brightly, a running flame through the mountains, a torch flung to the trees.” – Faith Baldwin

4. “Every leaf speaks bliss to me, fluttering from the autumn tree.” – Emily Bronte

5. “Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.” – Stanley Horowitz

6. “His beautiful, light imagination is the wing that on the autumn evening just brushes the dusky window.” – Henry James

7. “There is a harmony in autumn, and a luster in its sky, which through the summer is not heard or seen, as if it could not be, as if it had not been!” – Percy Bysshe Shelley

8. “Now Autumn’s fire burns slowly along the woods, and day by day the dead leaves fall and melt.” – William Allingham

9. “Summer ends, and Autumn comes, and he who would have it otherwise would have high tide always and a full moon every night.” – Hal Borland

10. “On the motionless branches of some trees, autumn berries hung like clusters of coral beads, as in those fabled orchards where the fruits were jewels . . .” – Charles Dickens

11. “I saw old Autumn in the misty morn stand shadowless like silence. . .” – Thomas Hood

12. “If winter is slumber and spring is birth, and summer is life, then autumn rounds out to be reflection. It’s a time of year when the leaves are down and the harvest is in and the perennials are gone. Mother Earth just closed up the drapes on another year and it’s time to reflect on what’s come before.” – Mitchell Burgess

13. “The Sussex lanes were very lovely in the autumn…spendthrift gold and glory of the year-end… earth scents and the sky winds and all the magic of the countryside which is ordained for the healing of the soul.” – Monica Baldwin



* * *


The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

23 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #33”

  1. These are great quotes! It really gets me excited for this time of year. The fall, or should I say Autum..is such a beautiful time of year.

  2. My favorite TT so far! Does it really feel like autumn in Canada? Down here in TN we have a long way to go – high today in the 90’s. Your quotes are like are a beautifully refreshing. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  3. Beautiful, Nancy! I do love summer, but you’ve got me hankering for autumn!

    Your grandson is adorable…and I love his name. That’s the name my daughter wants for her first son! She fell in love with it when she read “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.”

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my TT!

  4. Autumn’s my favorite season, too, and while I’ve noticed a few trees starting an early color turn, it’s so hot here, you would think it was July. Ugh.

    I am SO ready for cooler fall temperatures. So where are they???

  5. You have a lovely blog. Great list. I am thinking you are excited about Autumn. It is still pretty warm here, but hopefully the leaves will change soon. Happy TT.

  6. Nina, it really doesn’t feel so much like fall yet, except, perhaps, in the early morning when the air is crisp and cool. In fact, we’re about to get a couple of days in the high 80’s-low 90’s–not unusual for Nova Scotia in September. However, there’s a definite promise of fall in the air. :)

    Thank you everyone for your comments so far–I love the fall and it seems that a lot of you do, too. :)

  7. These were wonderful. AS much as I love summer and am always sad when it is coming to an end, there is a certain magic in Autumn, isn’t there?

  8. This almost makes me forget that Autumn is a lead-in to winter, a fault that it never quite overcomes to me. What kind of writer are you, besides one that loves words? :-) Thanks for stopping by my blog and very nice TT, BTW!

  9. Hi Sniz–thanks for stopping by! I started writing as a newspaper journalist many, many moons ago and over the years, have ventured into fiction. Nothing subbed/published as yet–I write romance and Young Adult fiction, as well as dabble in poetry. I do some freelance writing and photography as well. :)

  10. What a lovely TT! And I’ve never,ever heard a positive comment from Albert Camus – I always thought he was too PTSDed to be positive. Nice to see a little balance!

  11. Loved the quotes, but I have never felt anything for autumn, maybe because I grew up in Florida. Even now that we are in Washington state, it is the season I like the least. I am probably the only person I know that doesn’t look forward to the changing colors, though we have stumbled on a couple of scenes that were truly beautiful.

  12. I absolutely enjoyed your Autumn quotes. This is my favorite times of years. Very good memories that are attached to this time of the year. There is beauty to be seen in all of the months but this one touches my heart with the smells and colors. Very nice T13.

    Have a lovely weekend.

    Also thank you for stopping by my T13.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

