Points to Ponder #7

“And then the day came, when the risk to remain tight in a
bud
was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” – Anais Nin

Pushing beyond your comfort zone can be a healthy thing that can help you grow in confidence and creativity. While taking risks can be frightening, doing nothing is a mistake — we are told not to let fear stand in the way of us doing something we want to do. That sometimes, we have to take a huge leap of faith in order to achieve our goals and dreams.

What leaps of faith have you taken toward your dream — or what has held you back?

3 thoughts on “Points to Ponder #7

  1. Nancy, ironic that you posted on this subject, Leon and I were discussing it yesterday. We took a leap of faith and left the state I lived in most of my life. I kept the movie about the ball field, (build it and they will come), in our minds. He was 55 and on a job hunt, I kept telling him that if we moved the job would come. . . it came as soon as we made a decision to move there, before we actually moved, and in time to prevent being out of work.

    We are considering another big step… but that one is a bigger leap!

  2. I’ve been living my dream for more than ten years now, ever since I decided to try to make it as a freelance writer. The biggest obstacle is negativity–when we look for pitfalls and problems, they come in hords. When we speak and think and act positively, things unfold brilliantly.

    Now that might sound Pollyannaish. But I’m learning after quite a few years on this earth that when one door closes, another opens. REcently I’ve had a few changes to projects that I’ve been working on, and in a couple of cases I decided not to go ahead with the project, despite losing the income. Well…out of the blue last week came an unexpected and easy project which will net me more income than the two that went awry. Although I was initially worried, I also remembered that things do balance out, and sure enough, they have. Without going down a mystical pathway (about which I know and understand very little), I really think that we can create our own realities by believing how things can be–and then making them that way. Sound foolish? Maybe. But after more than ten years away from the ‘regular’ workforce, it’s been working for me. :-)

  3. A timely post as I was just thinking about this as I’m considering the rewrites for That Kind of Magic, a story that isn’t something I’d normally write. I was considering letting it go, but I really do owe it another chance.

    Hope all is well with you

    (((hugs))))

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

