Thursday Thirteen #30


THIRTEEN BITS OF COFFEE TRIVIA

1. 52% of Americans drink coffee.

2. A scientific report form the University of California found that the steam rising from a cup of coffee contains the same amounts of antioxidants as three oranges.

3. Beethoven who was a coffee lover, was so particular about his coffee that he always counted 60 beans each cup when he prepared his brew.

4. Caffeine is on the International Olympic Committee list of prohibited substances. Athletes who test positive for more than 12 micrograms of caffeine per milliliter of urine may be banned from the Olympic Games. This level may be reached after drinking about 5 cups of coffee.

5. In Italy, espresso is considered so essential to daily life that the price is regulated by the government.

6. Regular coffee drinkers have about one-third less asthma symptoms than those non-coffee drinkers. So says a Harvard researcher who studied 20,000 people.

7. Special studies conducted about the human body revealed it will usually absorb up to about 300 milligrams of caffeine at a given time. About 4 normal cups. Additional amounts are just cast off, providing no further stimulation.

8. The average annual coffee consumption of the American adult is 26.7 gallons, or over 400 cups.

9. The drip pot was invented by a Frenchman around 1800.

10. The French philosopher, Voltaire, reportedly drank fifty cups of coffee a day.

11. The word “tip” dates back to the old London coffeehouses. Conspicuously placed brass boxes etched with the inscription, “To Insure Promptness,” encouraged customers to pay for efficient service. The resulting acronym, TIP, has become a byword.

12. William Penn purchased a pound of coffee in New York in 1683 for $4.68.

13. Coffee Recipe from: ‘Kitchen Directory and American Housewife’ (1844)

“Use a tablespoonful ground to a pint of boiling water [less than a quarter of what we would use today]. Boil in tin pot twenty to twenty-five minutes. If boiled longer it will not taste fresh and lively. Let stand four or five minutes to settle, pour off grounds into a coffee pot or urn. Put fish skin or isinglass size of a nine-pence in pot when put on to boil or else the white and shell of half an egg to a couple of quarts of coffee.”

(trivia @ corsinet.com)



* * *


The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

18 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen #30”

  1. I totally used to drink coffee in mass quantities daily. But now, I’ve settled for pop and tea.

    But i miss coffee sometimes.

  2. Coffee is a way of life!

    Another trivia: The first bean was discover in the middle east by a shepard boy who saw his sheep eating berries from a tree. He tried it and felt euphoria.

  3. 50 cups a day? That explains a lot about Voltaire….

    I love the stuff but I can’t drink it anymore, sadly. I really do miss it. I’m not a coffee purist or anything; what I really love is a Starbucks frappucino or other sort with whip cream…Irish coffee…coffee with kahlua in as a dessert…YUM.

  4. I think my coffee consumption is somewhere between an olympic athlete and Voltaire! LOL It’s amazing that he would be able to write after that much caffeine!!

    Really interesting list!!!!

    Happy TT
    Jessica The Rock Chick

  5. LOVE the list! Reading it while enjoying a cup of coffe from Dunkin’ right now! :) Thanks for visiting my TT!

  6. Fascinating list!

    I love the smell of coffee, but my tummy won’t let me drink it.

    I added pictures to my book list, if you’re interested.

  7. Well, I am a coffee purist, but I don’t drink a lot of it…just quality coffee in small portions. The trick is to get non-stomped on organic coffee beans, keep them in your freezer, grind them fresh that day, and don’t ever use a plastic coffee maker. I only use a stainless steel press. Happy TT!

  8. Very interesting list. I am not a coffee purist, but I do need that one cup in the morning!
    I did not know what TIP stood for, learned something new.

  9. Wow! Over $4 in the 1600 for a bag of coffee? That had to be couple years’ salary! Astonishing. But – EW! fish scales in the coffee?

  10. I don’t drink coffee (still love the smell), but with all these studies, I’m wondering if I should. I’m in the same limbo over wine.

  11. That was so interesting! I didn’t know half that stuff about something I drink every day! I’m not quite up to 50 cups a day, but I’m working on it!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

