The Value of Time

Know the true value of time; snatch, seize and enjoy every moment of it. No idleness…never put off till tomorrow what you can do today. – Lord Chesterfield

Often our days are busied with worry, stress, complaining, work, and a general wasting of time. Once we finally realize the value of our time, often for many of us it is too late. While your life might seem like a long time in the midst of it, truly it is a blink of an eye. Today, make more time to be present in your life. Even small moments–enjoying a cup of tea, calling a friend, reading a favorite book–should be enjoyed. Restructure your day so that you can get all of your work done, but allow for extra time to be spent on personal matters. Stop procrastinating!

[from SparkPeople]


This is particularly good advice for me. I don’t take enough time to “stop and smell the roses”, so to speak. This morning, as I opened wide the bedroom window, I took the time to close my eyes and inhale the morning air, sweet with the dampness of dawn, soft and moist on my face, filled with bird song. It’s such a small thing — I always open the bedroom window wide when I make the bed, no matter the time of year. But on any other day, that initial blast of cold air might send me shivering to another room. Not this morning. :) Life IS short. Life is only moments. Enjoy them.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

