GGW Picture This Contest/Jan 2011 – Cute As A Button

This month’s Picture This Contest at Gardening Gone Wild is a fun theme:  Macro In A Mason Jar.  I first read of the technique on David Perry’s blog, and David is the creator and judge of this month’s contest.  It’s a fun technique for taking macro shots and you can read about the method at GGW or on David’s blog, even if you don’t intend to enter a photo.

I took a few shots using some beads, pennies, and polished stones, but the buttons appealed to me most — perhaps it’s the bright colour on a dark, grey day.

I simply put a few buttons in the bottom of a Mason jar and using natural window light, took a few shots.  I shook the bottle a few times to try to rearrange the buttons.

My entry for the contest, below.  I can’t wait to try this with some summer blooms!

 

12 thoughts on “GGW Picture This Contest/Jan 2011 – Cute As A Button

  1. Very cool. I really want to enter the contest. I’ve tried a couple things in the jar, but nothing is working out so far. I better hurry and come up with something before the deadline is up. I keep thinking plant material, but you just expanded my horizon a bit :-)

  2. I really like this…haven’t had time or inclination to enter the contest (I can barely breathe this past couple of weeks) but there are so many exquisite shots, I’m just glad I’m not the one having to deal with them! Good luck, Nancy!

  3. Very clever, Nancy–the vibrant colors of the buttons are a great contrast to the stark whiteness outside. This reminds me of my grandmother, who used to save all her extra buttons in a Mason jar.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

