Saucy Sunday Salsa

A few people had asked about the recipe I used to create this batch of salsa, and I’m happy to oblige.  A lot of how it tastes is personal — you can play with the amount of spices you use, for example, or how many peppers you use, depending on your tolerance for heat.

As written here, this is a mildly spicy, fairly thick mix that won’t kill you with the afterburn…saucy, not rude.  :)  It makes enough to fill six medium sized mayo bottles, but you can alter amounts to make the batch smaller or larger.

They’ve just issued a Hurricane Warning for the southern shore of Nova Scotia, so I should name this Kyle’s Revenge or something clever like that, but instead, let’s call it…

Saucy Sunday Salsa

  • 4 – 5 cups onions, chopped
  • 2 sweet red peppers, chopped
  • 1 sweet green pepper, chopped
  • 4 – 6 cups chopped tomatoes (I used canned diced tomatoes that I had on hand, mashing well to remove any large pieces)
  • 15 – 20 Jalapeno peppers, finely chopped, depending on how much heat you like and what size the peppers are (WEAR GLOVES!)
  • 1 can corn niblets, well drained
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 – 1.5 cups tomato sauce
  • 1 T. oregano
  • 1 T. cumin
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 1 T. salt

Using a small amount of oil in a large pot, cook the onions and all peppers until fairly soft, but not mushy.  Add rest of ingredients and simmer gently for an hour or so before tasting.  You can then add more spices if you like — I added more oregano and cumin for a slightly spicier flavor, and an extra pinch of sugar which cuts the acid in the tomatoes.

Let the mixture simmer and reduce until it is the consistency that you like; we prefer ours quite thick and it reduced by about 1/3.  That’s it!  When done, put in bottles or containers, your preference.  Let cool.  Delicious!

4 thoughts on “Saucy Sunday Salsa

  1. Thanks for the yummy recipe Nancy. I might have to give this one a shot, my hubby loves salsa. The spicier the better! I hope Kyle doesn’t wreak any havoc in your area.

    I hope not, too, though it looks like we’re in for a wicked night. If you make the salsa, let me know how it turns out. :)

  2. Excellent! I’m a salsaholic, and this sounds like a lovely rainy Sunday project…..with gloves! LOL! Thanks, Nancy.

    You’re welcome, and let me know how yours turns out. :)

  3. That look delicious have to try that recipe I have had a great harvest of peppers and tomatoes this year. I say just like Debi I’m a salsaholic! Have a nice October day. LOL Tyra
    ps. Congratulations to the award! Well done.

    Thanks so much, Tyra — let me know how your salsa turns out if you try the recipe.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

